Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2020, 08:54 PM
jonpaulr123 jonpaulr123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: 214 Berry St
Posts: 6
Default Connecting iPad via cable for faster connection?

Hey everyone, I just got the S1 and am noticing that when the iPad is connected via wifi it's a bit laggy with pro tools and the S1. Is there a way to connect it via a cable that will take this lag away?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2020, 10:05 PM
asm's Avatar
asm asm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 87
Default Connecting iPad via cable for faster connection?

I am using a iPad Pro, with usb-c, connected to the following;

https://www.cablestogo.com/product/2...p-to-60w-black

I also use a short usb-c extension cable to hide the adapter under the desk: https://www.cablestogo.com/product/2...n-cable-10gbps

This provides power as well as gigabit ethernet to the iPad (also works with my 13" MacBook pro, since I am using a 45W power supply.)

Meters and controls definitely seem more stable/responsive.

If you have an iPad with the lightning adapter, you can use something like this: https://www.belkin.com/us/p/P-F8J227/
__________________
Andrew Mittelman
www.soundgeneration.net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2020, 04:38 AM
Oggy Oggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 59
Default Re: Connecting iPad via cable for faster connection?

Is your wifi off? On the ipad?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2020, 07:24 AM
jonpaulr123 jonpaulr123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: 214 Berry St
Posts: 6
Default Re: Connecting iPad via cable for faster connection?

Quote:
Originally Posted by asm View Post
I am using a iPad Pro, with usb-c, connected to the following;

https://www.cablestogo.com/product/2...p-to-60w-black

I also use a short usb-c extension cable to hide the adapter under the desk: https://www.cablestogo.com/product/2...n-cable-10gbps

This provides power as well as gigabit ethernet to the iPad (also works with my 13" MacBook pro, since I am using a 45W power supply.)

Meters and controls definitely seem more stable/responsive.

If you have an iPad with the lightning adapter, you can use something like this: https://www.belkin.com/us/p/P-F8J227/

Great thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues Connecting iPad to Eucontrol Windows 10 JakeBirch Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 2 03-08-2019 01:54 PM
iPad via lightning cable - not working - how to set up? Sir Hannes Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 7 07-14-2017 12:48 PM
Ipad PTcontrol with ethernet connection Ale Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 1 02-16-2016 09:08 AM
Longer connection-cable? cambiata 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-27-2000 02:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com