Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=412714)

hart07 11-16-2020 04:22 PM

Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
hello everybody i would like to know if PRO tools HD 12.5 is compatible with HD native + digidesign 192 I/O analog and digital.
I am on windows 7 pro 64 bits + Hd native ( card ) and 192 I/O analog digidesign but i would like to update to windows 10 but need to go on PTools HD 12.5.
But my hardware Hd native and 192 I/O would be compatible with PT HD 12.5 and windows 10 64 bits ?
thks

Darryl Ramm 11-16-2020 04:47 PM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
192 IO are not officially supported on anything new but they should work fine.

The thing with these HD/Digilink systems you really want to be careful with is the basic compatibility of Pro Tools and the HD Native card on the OS version. What is hanging off the end of Digillnk cable is not nearly as much an issue. Try to follow the basic stuff here: https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart

unkJE 11-16-2020 05:20 PM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hart07 (Post 2583911)
.... i would like to update to windows 10

You can still upgrade Win 7 Pro to Win 10 Pro for free, without losing your files, instead of having to wipe out your device clean.

Hit the “Download tool now” button under “Create Windows 10 installation media” to get the MediaCreationTool1909 from this page:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/soft...load/windows10

https://youtu.be/QdNL-pvvXH4

Recommended reading:
Only install QuickTime Essentials, as explained here:

https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/apple-q...security-risk/

https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/windows...ng-phone-home/

https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/data-co...-phone-home-2/


If you go to Windows 7's
Control Panel>All Control Panel Items>System and see:
Windows Activation
Windows is activated
Product ID: *****-***-*******-*****


With an activated Win 7 Pro Product Key, the upgrade to Win 10 Pro is free!

Just pick the version of W10 that matches your W7: Home for Home and Pro/Ultimate for Pro.

hart07 11-17-2020 09:17 AM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm (Post 2583924)
192 IO are not officially supported on anything new but they should work fine.

The thing with these HD/Digilink systems you really want to be careful with is the basic compatibility of Pro Tools and the HD Native card on the OS version. What is hanging off the end of Digillnk cable is not nearly as much an issue. Try to follow the basic stuff here: https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart

Thk you
But you really think that my 192i/o should work with my HD native on windows 10 pro 64bits?
Otherwise what interface I should buy?

hart07 11-17-2020 10:59 AM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
Where can find pro tools hd 12,5a reasonable price?
Regards

albee1952 11-19-2020 01:00 PM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
HD/Native and 192 should be fine on Windows 10. I ran it 2 years ago and it was a really nice rig on a used HP Z820(12 core) with the HDN card connected to a pair of HD IO and a pair of 192 IO. No issues at all tracking 6 piece bands, even with 6 stereo HP mixes done in the sessions with sends. That system is still in use today.

hart07 11-19-2020 09:28 PM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
OK Thks for the reply. What would be the best processor to run windows 10, HD native and pro tools hd 12,5?
I know it's intel xeon 8 or 6 core but what model?
Thks

albee1952 11-22-2020 09:10 AM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
I'm not the last word but I always go for speed over number of cores(so a 6-core at 3.5GHz is better than an 8 core at 2.9GHz).

hart07 11-24-2020 05:44 AM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
OK Thks 3,5ghz would be fine in 6 core but xeon or O7 or i9?
Actually got an I7 3930k but it's not compatible I think with Pro tools hd 12,5?
Regards

albee1952 11-24-2020 01:50 PM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hart07 (Post 2584869)
OK Thks 3,5ghz would be fine in 6 core but xeon or O7 or i9?
Actually got an I7 3930k but it's not compatible I think with Pro tools hd 12,5?
Regards

I ran i7 3930K with all versions of PT12(and still running that same rig today with 2020.11). My HP Z820 with dual XEON 3,5GHz 6 cores was more stable(Z420 is the single CPU version and both are on the "approved hardware" list). Those 2 HP machines do require a specific slot for the HDN card. If you're building a new machine, I think all the i7 and i9 are safe choices, but XEON is the safest:o

hart07 11-24-2020 05:16 PM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
Thks albee1952
I can keep my i7 3930k under windows 10 and run pt 12,5hd with my HD native and my 192i/o?
There should be no problem?

albee1952 11-25-2020 10:58 AM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hart07 (Post 2584957)
Thks albee1952
I can keep my i7 3930k under windows 10 and run pt 12,5hd with my HD native and my 192i/o?
There should be no problem?

SHOULD be no problem, and since you already have it, you aren't risking anything other than some time:rolleyes:

hart07 11-25-2020 07:04 PM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
OK Thks
Where I can get a good deal to buy PT HD 12.5?

albee1952 11-26-2020 11:11 AM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hart07 (Post 2585109)
OK Thks
Where I can get a good deal to buy PT HD 12.5?

Okay, I'm a bit confused here. Usually, people ask about a specific version because they own it. What is it about 12.5 that has you stuck on that version? Buying a used license is fairly simple, as long as you deal with a reputable seller so you know they will be forthcoming with the required iLok asset (assuming you have an iLok account). Needless to say(but I will anyway), if someone offers to sell you Pro Tools that doesn't need an iLok, steer clear of that. The only reason I can see for stopping at 12.5 HD is to save the $299 cost of a Digilink license(required with 12.6 and up), but as that's a one-time purchase, it seems a shame to sacrifice the multitude of added features in the newer versions. Having said that, the choice is still yours and I would start your search with specific dealers like Alto Music, GSharp, Dale Pro, Parsons Audio, etc.(Alto and GSharp are both big eBay sellers too).

Just to recap, here's what you need:
1-HD or Ultimate software(can't use the native card or 192 without the proper software)
2-an iLok account and a 2nd or 3rd gen iLok
3-a Digilink license if you go newer than 12.5 HD software
4-an open PCIe slot in the computer(BTW, the HDN card can often be used in a longer PCIe slot)
5-Pro Tools software(which usually requires an Avid account and registering the software, so if you don't have that, make sure the seller can provide you with a way to download the installer):o

hart07 11-26-2020 02:51 PM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
Actually I have an official Ilock 2nd generation the black one with grey and blue light, with pro tools hd 9.0.6
And HD native card on pcie and 192i/o analog.
I want to go with windows 10 cause I am running on windows 7 pro 64bits.
I saw that the first version compatible with windows 10 is pro tools hd 12,5.
What the best way to get it at the right price

albee1952 11-27-2020 08:17 AM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
As I said above, start your search with specific dealers like Alto Music, GSharp, Dale Pro, Parsons Audio, etc.(Alto and GSharp are both big eBay sellers too).

hart07 12-10-2020 02:32 AM

Re: Pro Tools HD 12.5 compatibility
 
Need to know if PT HD native works on windows 10 ?
Need to download the right hd drivers cause i was on PT9.0.6 HD + HD native ( pcie ) on windows 7 64bits.
And now i am on Windows 10 64bits but need to install the right HD drivers for my HD native cards in pcie.
Where i can find the right HD drivers for my HD native card ?
Thks so much


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com