Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2021 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   hardware outboard gear on master fader insert (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=415084)

JMMPROD 04-22-2021 08:08 AM

hardware outboard gear on master fader insert
 
hi,
using PT 12 windows with scarlet 6i8 3rd gen outboard 500 rack HRK pultec clones. (trying to put in mix signal path) hybrid mix style, in and out of box



My main question is I have set up outboard eqs on the insert path of scarlet I/O 3&4 1&2 go to my speakers to monitor. if i insert my outboard eq on the master fader of my mix i can definatly hear it in my chain. when i try bounce to mix and make my mp3 or Wav files. There is no effected eq on my mixdown?????? i can hear it im my chain in pro tools but its not coming across im my bounce final product. any help please its driving me nuts!!!:eek:

Bookerv12 04-22-2021 08:43 AM

Re: hardware outboard gear on master fader insert
 
Create an Aux track and buss your other tracks to it.
Put your hardware inserts on the Aux.
The way you are doing it on the master fader is on the monitor path only.

JMMPROD 04-22-2021 09:12 AM

Re: hardware outboard gear on master fader insert
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bookerv12 (Post 2600303)
Create an Aux track and buss your other tracks to it.
Put your hardware inserts on the Aux.
The way you are doing it on the master fader is on the monitor path only.

wow that makes sense! so the MF is only monitoring what im hearing not actually reflecting what is being bounced to disk? i have used plug ins on the MF and they seem to translate to bounce. I feel like im getting some unusual lack of gain to the hardware gear seems low?
thanks will try what you mentioned!

JMMPROD 04-22-2021 06:47 PM

Re: hardware outboard gear on master fader insert
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bookerv12 (Post 2600303)
Create an Aux track and buss your other tracks to it.
Put your hardware inserts on the Aux.
The way you are doing it on the master fader is on the monitor path only.




Well that was a good thought but same situation as master fader the outboard eq inserted doesn't print when bouncing to mix.


My workaround is to create an audio track use 2 buses and record a mix sown the the eq inserted on MF. then bounce to disk the stereo comp

Bookerv12 04-23-2021 07:04 AM

Re: hardware outboard gear on master fader insert
 
Hi,
If you print to a track, there is no need to bounce.
Simply export the print.
This has been our workflow for about 17 years.

Same rule though;
Aux as master fader

JMMPROD 04-23-2021 07:59 AM

Re: hardware outboard gear on master fader insert
 
I was just thinking that if my final stereo mix down is WAV to just export file and be done. do you know if sonic quality is reduced when bounce to mix? also if i need MP3 would i still need to bounce to mix as MP3 or can those be exported as well? thanks for your input!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:09 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com