Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   Windows 11 Support for Pro Tools (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417605)

richardgreen 10-31-2021 05:29 PM

Windows 11 Support for Pro Tools

I am purchasing a new Windows based workstation that has Windows 11 Pro on it. Any ideas if Win 11 is supported yet? Do I need to get the vendor to install Windows 10 instead?

JoelG 11-01-2021 04:37 AM

Re: Windows 11 Support for Pro Tools

Here are the system requirements: https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...m-Requirements

No official Win 11 support yet. That said, I've been running it for a few months now without issue. If you're a home project studio, I'd say give Win 11 a try, if you're earning your living with Pro Tools, then I'd probably sitck with Win 10.

Joel

albee1952 11-01-2021 12:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by richardgreen (Post 2617875)
I am purchasing a new Windows based workstation that has Windows 11 Pro on it. Any ideas if Win 11 is supported yet? Do I need to get the vendor to install Windows 10 instead?

Three things come to mind:
1-it can be dangerous to jump onto anything in its first release(it's likely to have lots of issues to iron out)
2-if you are buying an "off the shelf" PC, that can be a bad option for Pro Tools. I would do one of three things here; buy a PC from a company that builds computers specifically for Pro Tools(like pro-tools-pc.com or sweetwater), build a PC according to known-working specs(for hardware AND software), or go with an Avid-approved PC(like the HP X820/840 line)
3-if you are certain the new PC is PT-compatible, then yes, I would ask the vendor to install Windows 10 Pro. Because of the timing here, you would almost certainly be able to upgrade to Win11 for free when its had some time to get updates to solve the initial bugs(which every OS has)

TOM@METRO 11-01-2021 05:08 PM

Quote: