Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   change of tonality after reopening protools session (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=421190)

Tonymfr91 08-05-2022 02:35 PM

change of tonality after reopening protools session
 
Hello,

It is with a lot of frustration that I am writing this message. :D

Since several ProTools sessions, when I leave the software (to go to sleep) and when I come back to work on it.
All the song has a lower pitch. (one tonality)
I admit I don't understand the bug, I tried to reinstall protools completely but nothing works, I also reinstalled my sound card, even changed sound card (Fast Track 400 -> Scarlett I2I) The problem is the same.

Even when I export the complete mix, everything is exported with a lower tonality...

Do you have an idea? Thanks a lot :)

Philthy 08-05-2022 04:54 PM

Re: change of tonality after reopening protools session
 
My first guess is maybe something wacky is happening with your sample rate.

Obsidian Dragon 08-05-2022 10:31 PM

Re: change of tonality after reopening protools session
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Philthy (Post 2643775)
My first guess is maybe something wacky is happening with your sample rate.

That's my first guess too. Perhaps you recorded at 96K but your playback engine is set to 88.2k. Or you recorded at 48K and your playback engine is set to 44.1K.

BScout 08-05-2022 11:13 PM

Re: change of tonality after reopening protools session
 
Sounds like you’ve screwed something up with sample rate.
Let’s start with basic info: Mac or Windows? What is the session sample rate? Where do your system sounds (music, beeps, internet, etc) send their sound (same outs as ProTools)?

Tonymfr91 08-06-2022 04:16 AM

Re: change of tonality after reopening protools session
 
Thanks for all your feedback,

For the configuration I am on W10 64b
Rayzen 5 3600
32GO RAM
Sound card : M Audio C400 Fast Track

Concerning the sound card,

It is in 44,1KHz, 24Bits
My protools session is also in 24Khz 24Bits
Delay semple is 91 samples

___

Playback engine : FastTrackC400
Hardware buffer size 512 samples
Video engine : Yes
Optimization: Ignore errors: Unchecked
Dynamic processing: Yes
Hard disk reading: Cache size: Normal

JFreak 08-06-2022 07:32 AM

Re: change of tonality after reopening protools session
 
it is a sampling rate mismatch and you can verify it by trying to tune a track and see that the plugin confirms your hunch. if tuning plugin says the track is spot on, clear your ears

albee1952 08-06-2022 10:27 AM

Re: change of tonality after reopening protools session
 
Good advice above. 3 more things to keep in mind:
#1-since you are on Windows, go into Settings>Sound and make sure that your interface is NOT the Windows Playback Device. Set that to the computer's sound card(likely "Realtek"). The reason for this is that windows likes to take control of the interface and lock Pro Tools out of setting the sample rate(you may need to check and reset this after a Windows update).:o

#2-The term "sound card" usually refers to the on-board sound of the computer. Your external box(the Fast Track) is an "interface":D

#3-If you are going to leave your computer on, but leaving for any length of time, Close Pro Tools. The reason is that Pro Tools just doesn't like sitting idle for hours on end(at least not for me). And, if you lose power while a session is open, its possible that PT is in the process of saving a backup(assuming you have auto-backup enabled), the data could be corrupted.:eek:

Eric Lambert 08-06-2022 01:33 PM

Re: change of tonality after reopening protools session
 
I would run into similar issue back when using an external clock. Definitely a sample rate mismatch. You have the right advice above, but I wanted to add that your recorded audio isn't ruined, it's just not playing back correctly. Unless you had conflicting sample rates between two devices at the time of recording, but it doesn't sound like that's the case here.

Obsidian Dragon 08-06-2022 05:57 PM

Re: change of tonality after reopening protools session
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tonymfr91 (Post 2643796)
It is in 44,1KHz, 24Bits
My protools session is also in 24Khz 24Bits
...
Video engine : Yes

I'm assuming that the 24KHz you typed is a typo and you meant 44.1 KHz (right?)

I'm not doing a lot of video, but if I recall, some video standards run at 48KHz instead of the 44.1KHz that most music compatible disc used. Could it be that when you recorded your audio along with the video that it is pulling it to that sample rate. Or the other way around where the video is pulling the audio to that sample rate during playback. Try to separate the video from the audio and see what happens.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com