Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Tips & Tricks (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Drum programming in PT Tab to Transients / Drum editing question/ audio and midi sync (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=367205)

Atlanta Bliss 04-22-2015 08:34 AM

Drum programming in PT Tab to Transients / Drum editing question/ audio and midi sync
 
Hi everyone,

I am wondering what other people do when editing audio to make drum samples. If you use the tab to transients function do you then just cut the region exactly on that transient and have that as the beginning of the sample? Or do you make the cut a little before that so as to keep the "whole" transient as part of the sound? Does cutting on the transient mean you're cutting the beginning of it off?
If you do cut at the transient where then do you place that region in relation to the snap point for bars / beats on the arrangement page? Exactly on the snap point or a little to the right of it?
If you place it exactly on the snap point and you're also using some midi sounds, when you "print" the midi (from a virtual instrument or hardware or whatever) the printed midi is going to be a a little behind the snap point (by whatever the latency amount is) ........ basically what I'm wondering is what workflows people use to get all their audio and midi perfectly in sync - and what they use as a reference point.

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!!!

albee1952 04-23-2015 12:38 PM

Re: Drum programming in PT Tab to Transients / Drum editing question/ audio and midi
 
In theory, Tab to Transient cuts at the leading edge, so you are not losing anything. That's the way I have always done my drum edits:o BTW, the samples I drop are usually samples of my actual kit pieces. I always roll past the end of a song and have the drummer give me clean single shots of each tom(and flams if the song used any):D

Atlanta Bliss 04-24-2015 05:07 AM

Re: Drum programming in PT Tab to Transients / Drum editing question/ audio and midi
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 2256466)
In theory, Tab to Transient cuts at the leading edge, so you are not losing anything. That's the way I have always done my drum edits:o BTW, the samples I drop are usually samples of my actual kit pieces. I always roll past the end of a song and have the drummer give me clean single shots of each tom(and flams if the song used any):D

Thanks for your reply Albee1952!! That's good to know!!

After you've made your cuts are you then placing those regions so the transients are exactly on the grid snap points (for bar , beat etc)? Or do you leave a little space between the snap point and the beginning of your sound?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com