Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Eleven Rack (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   tracking electirc guitar for guitar instrumental music (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=285046)

crashhak 10-29-2010 09:11 PM

tracking electirc guitar for guitar instrumental music
 
Well, If I want to tracking electric guitar for guitar instrumental music like Steve Vai, Yngwie Malmsteen, Joe Satriani, should I go for mono track or stereo track for solo part? My song is except for intro, outro, all the way solo. I will use eleven rack to record guitar. No micing amp.

Here's Yngwie Malmsteen song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pvce39OW8tY

Digi 002 Rack
Eleven Rack
Pt 8.04
firmware 1.03
vista 32 bit

madgt621 10-29-2010 10:00 PM

Re: tracking electirc guitar for guitar instrumental music
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crashhak (Post 1688095)
Well, If I want to tracking electric guitar for guitar instrumental music like Steve Vai, Yngwie Malmsteen, Joe Satriani, should I go for mono track or stereo track for solo part? My song is except for intro, outro, all the way solo. I will use eleven rack to record guitar. No micing amp.

Here's Yngwie Malmsteen song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pvce39OW8tY

Digi 002 Rack
Eleven Rack
Pt 8.04
firmware 1.03
vista 32 bit

whatever sounds good to you man, there's no wrong way to do it. I typically use mono for most of my guitars, but if i'm using stereo effects or just cause i feel like it, i'm down to throw a track into stereo.

the beauty of the 11R is that you can record the dry track, you can record it in mono, and if you later want it in stereo, just reamp with the exact same sound. (or vice versa)

Easy 1 2 3

nst7 10-30-2010 06:21 AM

Re: tracking electirc guitar for guitar instrumental music
 
Generally it's probably better to use mono, mainly to add effects after the fact, which lets you experiment and pick and choose. As the other guy mentioned, you can reamp after the fact. Or you can record the track with the amp effect, but not any delay/reverb. In this case you can still monitor with effects using the basic Protools plugins. Then after you're done, you can send the signal back through the rack just for the effects, or use the built in Protools plugins for your delay, etc.

mikefont 10-30-2010 06:13 PM

Re: tracking electirc guitar for guitar instrumental music
 
I do EVERYTHING in stereo myself, but that could be overkill depending on the final product. I like to have the ability to go back with those stereo tracks and add effects that would be in stereo if I wanted to....:rolleyes:

Either way you want to do it is OK!

Mike

.

crashhak 10-31-2010 10:58 PM

Re: tracking electirc guitar for guitar instrumental music
 
Thanks Guys. I will post song when it's done.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com