Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 12 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=142)
-   -   PT 12 with Digidesign 192 (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=373191)

Javier90mfc 10-17-2015 02:51 PM

PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
There are three PT products from my understanding that will allow the Digidesign 192 to be compatible with PT 12:
1) HD Native Thunderbolt
2) HD Native PCIE
3) HDX PCIE

is this correct?

I don't want to blow too much money and from my understanding all I need to replace is the outdated "card". my problem is, i don't know where that outdated card is located (i'm assuming in the digidesign) and what to replace it with so that the 192 works with PT 12.

i'm new to setting up a studio so and my band got this equipment handed down to us from a previous owner so we are working with what we have.

how convenient is it to get the 192 working with PT 12 or do you recommend buying a newer interface?

Drew Mazurek 10-17-2015 03:00 PM

Re: PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Javier90mfc (Post 2303585)
There are three PT products from my understanding that will allow the Digidesign 192 to be compatible with PT 12:
1) HD Native Thunderbolt
2) HD Native PCIE
3) HDX PCIE

is this correct?

I don't want to blow too much money and from my understanding all I need to replace is the outdated "card". my problem is, i don't know where that outdated card is located (i'm assuming in the digidesign) and what to replace it with so that the 192 works with PT 12.

i'm new to setting up a studio so and my band got this equipment handed down to us from a previous owner so we are working with what we have.

how convenient is it to get the 192 working with PT 12 or do you recommend buying a newer interface?

It will work just fine. I use a 96I/O as my "third" interface behind an Apogee Symphony 16x16 and an Avid HD I/O 16x16.

I recommend you find a reputable dealer in your area to help make sure you get the right tools for your job.

Javier90mfc 10-17-2015 03:09 PM

Re: PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
did your avid HD I/O 16x16 come with the HD Native Thunderbolt? 'Cause some places say that the 192 won't work with PT 12 because the cards are outdated

Javier90mfc 10-17-2015 03:13 PM

Re: PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
I know it will work. I've done the research and at least have come up with that conclusion.

I really do not have any idea HOW it will work. I only have a Digidesign 192, i don't have any updated cards or anything. and everywhere i've researched it says if you don't have your cards updated the 192 won't be compatible with PT 12.

so i'm stuck at this cards thing

Craig F 10-17-2015 03:25 PM

Re: PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
Stop double/cross posting

https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductD...00&&store=shop


Extreme Mixing 10-17-2015 03:28 PM

Re: PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
You have answered your own question. Your TDM cards are the thing that you can't use. You have to have either HD Native, or HDX. Then you have to have at least one HD interface. You can use that to connect the 192. The 192 is great if you need more inputs for your system. And they are worth so little that it's hardly worth selling it.

Steve

TOM@METRO 10-17-2015 04:31 PM

Re: PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
Are you running PT12HD software?

If you are not, non of the above will work for you.

If you are running HD12, how did you acquire the license without the associated hardware?

Javier90mfc 10-17-2015 04:34 PM

Re: PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
Unfortunately not, but I'm not allowed to post on here anymore or else I'll get "in trouble"

Southsidemusic 10-17-2015 04:51 PM

Re: PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Javier90mfc (Post 2303633)
Unfortunately not, but I'm not allowed to post on here anymore or else I'll get "in trouble"

LOL You won't get in trouble :D Just that it is easier to maintain one thread as we answer in one or the other so some advice might get lost between members, thats why I will try and merge these two threads so we can answer answer you in the same place ;) No worries buddy! You can answer here aswell as the posts will hopefully merge into the same place and nothing will be deleted.

propower 10-17-2015 05:19 PM

Re: PT 12 with Digidesign 192
 
192s are good interfaces and cheap as heck nowadays

Unfortunately having a system to hook them up to that runs PT12 is not cheap :-) You already know the ways to do it with HD12... DiGiGrid DLS is another way to do it and it will run on PT12 Vanilla ... but like I said... still not cheap :-)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com