Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Tips & Tricks (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Widening... (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=236227)

danander11 01-11-2009 04:17 AM

Widening...

OK.. I'm relatively new to the recording side of all of this.. and one of the things I am curious to know how others use it, is stereo widening...

I downloaded Flux's free stereo plug in and love it..

I like to take the drums and bass and send to an Aux, as I do for reverb, etc.. and put the stereo plug on it, and flip the phase 90 degrees and then mix a little of it in to fill out the foundation of a song....

Ideas? suggestions? How do you use it?

Peace!

albee1952 01-11-2009 12:27 PM

Re: Widening...

Just my 2 cents but would not use it except as an effect. Any time you mess with the phase of something as important as drums and bass, you risk the quality of the final master. Go easy with the widener and always check your mix in mono before you let it out of the studio.

danander11 01-11-2009 02:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 1333530)
Just my 2 cents but would not use it except as an effect. Any time you mess with the phase of something as important as drums and bass, you risk the quality of the final master. Go easy with the widener and always check your mix in mono before you let it out of the studio.

Cool.. exactly what I am looking for.. I would never have thought to listen to it in mono. Everything sounds great in stereo..

Being a noob stinks... being a noob at 50 is worse.. ;) Better than being a slug I reckon.

Peace! (and thanks!)

DrFord 01-12-2009 10:24 AM

Noob = soon to be pro if he keeps learning.
Idiot = Noob who thinks he already knows everything (also called a teenager.)

1ace1 01-13-2009 06:43 AM

I suppose the best to use it is what sounds right to you works. Not very helpful I know. Sorry about that.