Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   what video card? AJA or Blackmagic (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=416991)

fork-media 09-11-2021 02:47 PM

what video card? AJA or Blackmagic
 
looking for some ideas about the consensus on running video with PT11.3.2?

I'm still running an 2012 mac mini and PT 10 on the whole, but like the idea of being able to run drop box again ( not supported in current ancient OS ) as well as HD video.

I can switch to a newer partition very easily - with high sierra and perpetual license for PT HD 11.3.2

which would you go with AJA or Blackmagic?

is USB 3 video going to do the trick - lots of rapid Locating required using HD video?

Or consider jump right up to a protools ultimate? and a later OS?

I'm actually really fast and comfortable with current system, dont really want to spend time resetting ancilliary stuff up and pt11 is already working basically - I am still tempted to stay in PT10 as my quick keys . samplers etc are all working fine. and I have a couple of rush jobs on

I just upgraded to post production suite 5 on Izotope which is what is prodding me to go later OS ( eventually). but. have RX loudness control working in PT10 now so that was the main pressure

LDS 09-11-2021 04:22 PM

Re: what video card? AJA or Blackmagic
 
I have had success using both, but it will require a bit of research into models and drivers for your system and OS. AJA make some really reliable stuff, but it can be problematic with models having different hardware revisions that aren’t compatible with every system. Blackmagic hardware on the other hand seems to work in most systems, but different versions of the drivers work better than others. Some googling it usually necessary. Perhaps wait till you have some downtime to get tucked into it.

Cheesehead 09-12-2021 02:55 PM

Re: what video card? AJA or Blackmagic
 
I find Aja the best, I used to have Blackmagic but driver issues put me off.

fork-media 10-07-2021 05:41 PM

Re: what video card? AJA or Blackmagic
 
have plumped for AJA - got a cheap T tap.

Its ok. but not as solid as the quicktime environment in PT10HD

Doesnt like changing between different projects that have had different Video codecs.

(I have been experimenting with ways to get to DNxHD.

using MB_Convert2DNxHD_PT. a widget

I tried resolve but kept crashing.

I have succeeded with adobe media encoder - but makes larger files - not sure if have the optimum settings


Over all I find my system is a bit slower in high sierra - frequent memory warnings wondering if should think about a "new" computer - perhaps a trashcan mac with 32 or 64 Gb Ram may help?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com