Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Emagic Logic vs ProTools & Logic (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=42013)

AM 11-03-2001 03:26 AM

Emagic Logic vs ProTools & Logic

I’m a rather confused newbie.

1. Why do people use Logic together with ProTools. Having one application for MIDI and another for audio seems complicated. One answer I’ve heard is that the MIDI timing and functionality in ProTools is poor. Why not then do everything in Logic, or is Logic audio poor?

2. I have the setup that probably most people on this forum have. A Mac G4 with ProTools 001 and ProTools LE. Could I use Logic for both audio and MIDI using the 001 for inputs and outputs? What would be the disadvantages and advantages with this?

3. If I wanted to use Logic for MIDI only with ProTools for audio, which Logic version should I choose (Platinum, Gold, Silver etc)

Thanks.

simonjbinks 11-03-2001 05:00 AM

Re: Emagic Logic vs ProTools & Logic

I use Logic Audio 4.8.1 and Pro Tools LE 5.1, however I've been too lazy to use Logic as a front end midi sequencer and Pro Tools as the audio recorder.

However, Pro Tools sounds much better that Logic. There has been much debate over this on the Logic Users group, but I swear it's true.

However again, Logic has a more comprehensive midi system.

Using Logic as the front end and Pro Tools as the audio recorder is certainly a serious consideration.

Simon Binks

Hank5 11-03-2001 08:58 AM