Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | Carbon (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=161)
-   -   [SOLVED] how to connect TC Clarity M (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417174)

dominicperry 11-06-2021 11:54 AM

Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by digiot (Post 2618558)
Appreciate the info. Can you clarify if you can send SPDIF to say a Clarity but still able to receive ADAT on the inputs!?

From the updated manual:

"Optical In Format (Detected)
Pro Tools | Carbon automatically detects the digital format of the incoming signal on optical ports 1 and 2.(labeled ADAT In 1 and 2 on the back panel). The detected format is displayed for each port: ADAT, S/PDIF, or N/A.

Optical Out Format
Pro Tools | Carbon provides two pairs of optical in and out ports (labeled ADAT Out 1 and 2 on the back panel). The Optical I/O page of the Hardware Setup lets you set the digital format of each output port to either ADAT or Optical S/PDIF. When set to ADAT, each port provides up to 8 channels of digital audio depending on the sample rate. When set to Optical S/PDIF, each port provides up to 2 channels of digital audio up to 96 kHz."

JFreak 11-06-2021 11:55 AM

Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M
 
Yes, but without having a Carbon here, I am interested in this very important detail: IS IT POSSIBLE to output SPDIF optical outside of PT software or is it PT only?

Kyle Splittgerber 11-06-2021 12:07 PM

Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JFreak (Post 2618562)
Yes, but without having a Carbon here, I am interested in this very important detail: IS IT POSSIBLE to output SPDIF optical outside of PT software or is it PT only?

Yes, outside of PT as well. PT Hardware Setup just allows you to select which format you want for the optical output ports.

JFreak 11-06-2021 12:38 PM

Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber (Post 2618564)
Yes, outside of PT as well. PT Hardware Setup just allows you to select which format you want for the optical output ports.

So this works even if you use another DAW?

Kyle Splittgerber 11-06-2021 01:47 PM

Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JFreak (Post 2618567)
So this works even if you use another DAW?

Yes.

digiot 11-07-2021 08:35 AM

Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dominicperry (Post 2618560)
From the updated manual:

"Optical In Format (Detected)
Pro Tools | Carbon automatically detects the digital format of the incoming signal on optical ports 1 and 2.(labeled ADAT In 1 and 2 on the back panel). The detected format is displayed for each port: ADAT, S/PDIF, or N/A.

Optical Out Format
Pro Tools | Carbon provides two pairs of optical in and out ports (labeled ADAT Out 1 and 2 on the back panel). The Optical I/O page of the Hardware Setup lets you set the digital format of each output port to either ADAT or Optical S/PDIF. When set to ADAT, each port provides up to 8 channels of digital audio depending on the sample rate. When set to Optical S/PDIF, each port provides up to 2 channels of digital audio up to 96 kHz."

Thanks for clarifying that’s exciting news! I’m still holding off on the update because of the “connection loss” issues people have been reporting.

Southsidemusic 11-09-2021 08:02 AM

Can anyone do a step by step on using the optical as adat
 
Been trying to get our two TC Clarity M stereo units working now when the Optical ports on Carbon is supposed to work as adat/spdif and I connected one optican from the TC to Carbon optical port and I dont know where to change the settings in the software and or PTultimate as I cant get the TC to get a connection green light. Been called by support but as time difference seem to be 9 hrs we were in the middle of tracking so my phone wasn’t even on so I really understand why people get green in their face grying to get and help with a 4000 dollar interface and mind you we bought 2 Carbon and with conversion it is about 9700-10.000 USD for both so please can eddie or someone else who knows this help please!? Been helping you (Avid) for 8-9 years so Think I am entitled to 5 minutes of your time?

Southsidemusic 11-09-2021 08:19 AM

Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber (Post 2618564)
Yes, outside of PT as well. PT Hardware Setup just allows you to select which format you want for the optical output ports.

Thanks for all your input but can Kyle or eddie for example show me how to as the page setup in carbon the left 2 boxes says N/A in Carborn page weather i set the right boxes to any of the choices. The 2 left boxes where I presume I should be able to chose adat/aes/spdif says N/A so where am i missing a setting? In PT or Audio-midi setup or where?

Thanks

Removed my older thread as it didn’t work with the old version but should be working now with new Carbon Firmware and PT2021.10

Here is the new post I wrote today and this shouldn’t be sooo difficult!

Been trying to get our two TC Clarity M stereo units working now when the Optical ports on Carbon is supposed to work as adat/spdif and I connected one optican from the TC to Carbon optical port and I dont know where to change the settings in the software and or PTultimate as I cant get the TC to get a connection green light. Been called by support but as time difference seem to be 9 hrs we were in the middle of tracking so my phone wasn’t even on so I really understand why people get green in their face grying to get and help with a 4000 dollar interface and mind you we bought 2 Carbon and with conversion it is about 9700-10.000 USD for both so please can eddie or someone else who knows this help please!? Been helping you (Avid) for 8-9 years so Think I am entitled to 5 minutes of your time?

BScout 11-09-2021 08:42 AM

Re: Can anyone do a step by step on using the optical as adat
 
TC Clarity M stereo only accepts SPDIF signal (not ADAT)

To change what the Carbon is sending, in Pro Tools, go to Hardware Setup, Optical I/O page.

https://i.imgur.com/qxxhOkY.png

Switch this to S/PDIF

Kyle Splittgerber 11-09-2021 09:05 AM

Re: Can anyone do a step by step on using the optical as adat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Southsidemusic (Post 2618783)
Been trying to get our two TC Clarity M stereo units working now when the Optical ports on Carbon is supposed to work as adat/spdif and I connected one optican from the TC to Carbon optical port and I dont know where to change the settings in the software and or PTultimate as I cant get the TC to get a connection green light. Been called by support but as time difference seem to be 9 hrs we were in the middle of tracking so my phone wasn’t even on so I really understand why people get green in their face grying to get and help with a 4000 dollar interface and mind you we bought 2 Carbon and with conversion it is about 9700-10.000 USD for both so please can eddie or someone else who knows this help please!? Been helping you (Avid) for 8-9 years so Think I am entitled to 5 minutes of your time?

Check out Page 19 of What’s New guide which has the relevant Optical S/PDIF routing info. Ensure that the ADAT OUT port you’re connecting the optical cable to on Carbon is configured for S/PDIF in Hardware Setup.

What's the Input Mode (2) set to on the Clarity's System page? I'm looking at Page 15 in the guide and looks like you may be able to switch that between AES and S/PDIF. But, I have never used the Clarity device so I don't know how it needs to be configured.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com