Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help! (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=413513)

CassianoMusicMan 01-05-2021 10:36 AM

Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!
 
Hi everyone, this is actualy my first post here and thanks in advance for your atention.

I got the Pro Tools M- Powered 8, wich I´ve upgraded to 8.0.5 in a Windows 7 Vaio Laptop with a firewire port conected to a Profire2626. But this Laptop´s firewire stopped working and isn´t worth fixing it.

So I got a new computer, a Ryzen 6 3600, with a Aorus B450 motherboard, GeForce 1660, Texas Firewire PCIex card, all running in Windows 10. The windows 10 recognizes the M-Audio interface perfectly. I´ve already instaled PACE too, no problems.

BUT, I am having problems instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered. It started normaly. But, at the time it asks to reboot, when the computer is starting again, It enters the security mode, and I have to restore the computer to an early point.

Any help???

Thanks in advance!

Southsidemusic 01-05-2021 12:03 PM

Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!
 
Hi

So PT8 LE will never work on Windows 10. Sorry but you got to get current with the latest PT 2020 if you are going to run Windows 10.

CassianoMusicMan 01-05-2021 12:37 PM

Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Southsidemusic (Post 2589508)
Hi

So PT8 LE will never work on Windows 10. Sorry but you got to get current with the latest PT 2020 if you are going to run Windows 10.


I read about a lot of people working with PT8 and Win10...
Maybe running in compatibility mode?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

unkJE 01-05-2021 06:04 PM

Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CassianoMusicMan (Post 2589499)
.... I got the Pro Tools M- Powered 8, wich I´ve upgraded to 8.0.5

Hi – and welcome to the DUC!

This may be worth a try – if you have the time.

My Axiom Pro 49 keyboard (installed with Windows 7) is not supported in Windows 10 – however, it works fine in Win 10, after “migrating from Win 7 to Win 10, with all files intact/keep Programs installed)”.
(This is NOT a clean install of Win 10)

(1) From Windows 10, revert to Windows 7:
Start Menu>Settings>Update & Security>Recovery>Go back to Windows 7

More info: Uninstall Windows 10 and revert back to Windows 7
https://www.techradar.com/au/how-to/...ws-8-1-1325555

(2) Restart computer

(3) Install Pro Tools M-Powered 8 with Updates to 8.0.5 – as well as the appropriate M-Audio Drivers - https://m-audio.com/support/drivers

(4) Restart computer

(5) Install a minimal version of Apple's QuickTime this way:
https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/apple-q...security-risk/
Scroll down to the heading:
Installing the bare minimum Quicktime Components Required for Pro Tools

(6) Restart computer

(7) Use Microsoft’s MediaCreationTool1909 (do not use the latest MediaCreationTool20H2) to migrate Win 7 to Win 10 with all files intact

Microsoft suggest:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...b-310ca0e0306f

Install Windows 10 Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418) with the iso from the following link:
https://tb.rg-adguard.net/public.php

Select type: Windows (Final)
Select version: Windows 10, Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418)
Select edition: Windows 10
Select language: English
Select file: Win10_1909_English_x64.iso

Run the iso - choose “keep my programs installed” – don’t choose a “clean install”

(7) Restart computer

(8) Run the free CCleaner:
https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download

Then run the free CCleaner Registry – run 2 or 3 times, until it finds no more to fix


(9) Restart computer


(10) Launch Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.5 in Windows 10 to see if it works - please post your result!


Good luck!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fortune_favours_the_bold

CassianoMusicMan 01-05-2021 06:11 PM

Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by unkJE (Post 2589545)
Hi – and welcome to the DUC!

This may be worth a try – if you have the time.

My Axiom Pro 49 keyboard (installed with Windows 7) is not supported in Windows 10 – however, it works fine in Win 10, after “migrating from Win 7 to Win 10, with all files intact/keep Programs installed)”.
(This is NOT a clean install of Win 10)

(1) From Windows 10, revert to Windows 7:
Start Menu>Settings>Update & Security>Recovery>Go back to Windows 7

More info: Uninstall Windows 10 and revert back to Windows 7
https://www.techradar.com/au/how-to/...ws-8-1-1325555

(2) Restart computer

(3) Install Pro Tools M-Powered 8 with Updates to 8.0.5 – as well as the appropriate M-Audio Drivers - https://m-audio.com/support/drivers

(4) Restart computer

(5) Install a minimal version of Apple's QuickTime this way:
https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/apple-q...security-risk/
Scroll down to the heading:
Installing the bare minimum Quicktime Components Required for Pro Tools

(6) Restart computer

(7) Use Microsoft’s MediaCreationTool1909 (do not use the latest MediaCreationTool20H2) to migrate Win 7 to Win 10 with all files intact

Microsoft suggest:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...b-310ca0e0306f

Install Windows 10 Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418) with the iso from the following link:
https://tb.rg-adguard.net/public.php

Select type: Windows (Final)
Select version: Windows 10, Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418)
Select edition: Windows 10
Select language: English
Select file: Win10_1909_English_x64.iso

Run the iso - choose “keep my programs installed” – don’t choose a “clean install”

(7) Restart computer

(8) Run the free CCleaner:
https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download

Then run the free CCleaner Registry – run 2 or 3 times, until it finds no more to fix


(9) Restart computer


(10) Launch Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.5 in Windows 10 to see if it works - please post your result!


Good luck!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fortune_favours_the_bold


I’ll!!!
Thank’s a lot! I appreciate your help!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ben Jenssen 01-05-2021 11:53 PM

Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!
 
I'm sorry, but it will never work. Simple as that. You will be wasting your time. I'm with Cristopher, either you get current with PT or you might try to install Win7 on that PC. Win7/PT8 might work.

potsy 08-02-2022 05:31 AM

Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!
 
Hi there, I know this is an old thread but for future readers it's worth correcting the above. Those who say it will never work are wrong. I've been doing it since windows 10 came out. I have fresh installed a couple of times, most recently last weekend. PT8 goes fine on windows 10.

For the install I followed the instructions here from albee1952, which just boil down to don't turn your DIGI002 on until the 8.0.5 updater tells you to.
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=365112

unkJE 08-05-2022 06:55 AM

Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by potsy (Post 2643473)
... PT8 goes fine on windows 10.

For the install I followed the instructions here from albee1952, which just boil down to don't turn your DIGI002 on until the 8.0.5 updater tells you to.
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=365112

Thanks for posting!

Did you use the Microsoft Media Creation Tool version 1909 - or did you use another version?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com