Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Eleven Rack (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Eleven Rack Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=351337)

Michael North 02-19-2014 03:46 PM

Eleven Rack Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
Bummer ...
Just downloaded the Editor ... and when I try and run it I get ...
"Error Initializing Eleven Rack MIDI Engine"

I've only had it about a week and both audio and midi have been working great with both ProTools 11 and Logic X ... so this is a surprise.

Driver 1.2.0
Firmware 2.00.1

And the Rack shows up fine in Audio MIDI Setup.

Any Ideas?

I'm on a Mac with 10.9.1

Benoni 02-19-2014 04:40 PM

Re: Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
Have you tried using a different USB port?

Can you open the Editor with Pro Tools closed?

Have you tried a re-install of the Editor?

Michael North 02-20-2014 10:25 AM

Re: Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
Thanks for trying to help.

1) Yes, I did re-installed the editor.
I even re-download it ... No Joy
also re-download and re-installed the drivers.

Does the Editor create any files in the system library that I should trash?

2) No, the editor will not open, and it gives the same error
with ProTools open OR closed ...

3) I did try a different port (after you suggested it) ... No Joy

4) I also shutoff the other two interfaces I'm using,
a MOTU 828 and a Apogee Duet ... still No Joy

5) Zapped the Pram

?? Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated ...

Is there a contact email or URL for the Editor developers/support ?

Line 4 of the installation instructions states:
"iLok License Manager is required and should be installed automatically"
Of corse it's there since I'm running ProTools ... But ... there's no sign of
a license for the Editor.
There's no license required ... right?

junkgear 02-20-2014 11:00 AM

Re: Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael North (Post 2134136)
There's no license required ... right?

No, you do not need a license to run the editor.

There are two MIDI ports on the 11R; an external and an internal.
I forget how they are labeled in the driver, but make sure that both are enabled in OSX. My guess is that the internal (USB) port is disabled.

stormstudios 02-20-2014 11:19 AM

Re: Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
Do you have everything permanently wired up? I've noticed that I must have the 11R plugged in and then start up my computer. I can't plug it in with the computer running or I get all sorts of issues or it doesn't even work at all.

Also, the License isn't required but for some reason the License Manager needs to be installed. Weird, right? And the help hasn't been clear enough. The License Manager (or the shared files required for the Editor) was supposed to be installed with the Editor but many had issues where it wasn't actually installing.

Weird that it's working everywhere but that so I'm not sure what other help I can give. I just thought I'd share some of the bg info from other threads.

Michael North 02-20-2014 12:29 PM

Re: Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
1 Attachment(s)
Ya ... it seems odd to have a problem with Editor when
the Rack is talking to both Logic and ProTools just fine ...

It's hard to see on the Screen Shot I uploaded;
but the MIDI Studio app shows both ports Rig & External "good to go".

Is there someone " directly " responsible for Editor Support
that I can contact?

Thanks guys ... for jumping in ...

musicman691 02-22-2014 06:50 PM

Re: Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by junkgear (Post 2134148)
No, you do not need a license to run the editor.

There are two MIDI ports on the 11R; an external and an internal.
I forget how they are labeled in the driver, but make sure that both are enabled in OSX. My guess is that the internal (USB) port is disabled.

Huh? There are two 5 pin DIN MIDI ports on the 11R (input and output). Those have nothing to do with the USB port which is for control and passing audio to and from the computer. I have never heard of an internal and external MIDI ports. I never had to do anything in OSX AMS to setup the 11R MIDI (I have a separate MIDI interface). The only thing I use the MIDI in port on the 11R is for my Tech 21 MIDI Mouse for patch selection. Didn't have to do anything in OSX AMS or on the 11R for that.

Just forgot something - if there are other MIDI drivers on the computer that will mess up communications with the 11R. I use a lot of Native Instruments vi's and fx in during installation of the Komplete 8 and 9 bundles NI's own MIDI driver for some piece of hardware I don't have was automatically installed. This would interfere with PT10 seeing the 11R and I had to delete the NI driver for things to reliably work.

Michael North 02-25-2014 11:26 AM

Re: Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
Thanks for jumping in ...

I assumed that the USB was being seen as a MIDI I/O as well; it does transmit MIDI to and from the computer ...

I Am using the Rack as the only MIDI I/O for the Mac. It's been working fine in that role with both PT & Logic.

I Do have Komplete 8 running ... I don't make much use of it ... so if I have to un-install it for a test ... it's do-able ... I can live without it for a while.

I have a support ticket going on this issue now, but the "back & forth" has been a little slow. And it started with the immortal words "We've never seen that before" :o) Not exactly encouraging ...

I've also done all three levels of re-initializing that I know of.

And I eliminated the MOTO and Apogee interfaces for now; and removed them
from the Aggregate I/O. (Support tells me it's to be used Only for the Macs native Inputs & Outputs)

Still no Joy
:(

jeffro 03-10-2014 04:48 PM

Re: Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
Just closing the loop here... I found Michael's support case which shows that creating a new User Account solved the problem.

This has been added to the KB:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...en-Rack-Editor

Frankee 06-12-2014 02:46 AM

Re: Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine
 
hi did anyone solve this problem??? I've tried everything stated above and in the avid reply.. any help would be much appreciated before i lose my [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] and start smashing stuff!! god i hate computers! :mad:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com