Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Windows (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Midi HELP needed!!! (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=416432)

BurbankGuy 07-30-2021 03:53 PM

Midi HELP needed!!!
 
Hi folks,

I'm having a terrible time with Pro Tools and midi import/export.

Last week, I selected a midi clip. I renamed the clip and then exported it.
I opened a new session and imported that clip.
Not only did the name get changed to "midi.01" but the midi track was as long as the entire session.

I did the same for another midi track from the original session. Again, name got changed to "midi.02" and when I imported it there were TWO midi tracks: midi.01 AND midi.02"

OK...I'm now confused as heck.

Cut to today when I attempt to do the same thing in a completely different session.
Pro Tools is now importing the midi from LAST WEEK. Not the midi from today.

Can someone out there give me some pointers, please? I know the first rule is that PT and Midi don't get along. That much I learned years ago...

Thanks!!

albee1952 07-31-2021 04:40 PM

Re: Midi HELP needed!!!
 
Not really sure why things are acting odd, but maybe changing your method could help:o Since you are exporting so you can import to another session, instead of the extra steps to export, followed by import, why not skip the export step, open the session that you want to bring the midi in, and use the Import Session Data function and import the midi(or instrument) track directly from the source session?

Remember that when you export midi, it exports ALL midi in the session(I'm not even sure if its possible to only export some). Using the above suggestion allows you to be more selective on what midi you bring into your new session. Re the old bit of Pro Tools sucking at midi, that's really no longer the case. While it may not be as slick as Logic or "insert DAW name here", its still miles better than it was a few versions back(and it gets better with each major release).

BurbankGuy 08-01-2021 01:34 PM

Re: Midi HELP needed!!!
 
Thanks!
I'm relatively self taught on certain aspects of Pro Tools, specially how it handles Midi.

That is a great suggestion.

I thank you!

albee1952 08-01-2021 04:06 PM

Re: Midi HELP needed!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BurbankGuy (Post 2609376)
Thanks!
I'm relatively self taught on certain aspects of Pro Tools, specially how it handles Midi.

As am I:o


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com