Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   mac os on pc? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=258003)

Hr.Austmann 10-28-2009 11:31 PM

mac os on pc?
 
Ive been thinking about this for some time now,is there anyone working with pro tools on pc with mac os,os x,snow leopard?
if so,then im wondering how stable is pro tools?
the thing is that im gettin way too freaking nuts on all the errors all the time and ive done everything that digi recommended,ive just had it and i have no faith in w7 as a host for pro tools.and mac pros are too pricy:o

any info would be well appreciated

thanx:-)

albee1952 10-29-2009 08:20 AM

Re: mac os on pc?
 
The real attraction to OSX for Pro Tools has less to do with OSX and more to do with the hardware. If you build a PC with the proper parts and the proper setup(BIOS), you will have a very stable workstation. I work in 2 studios a lot. My own with a custom built i7 PC and a friend that runs a $40K Mac Pro/HD3 system that was completely installed and setup by a pro company in Nashville. The HD rig crashes at a rate of about 6:1 as compared to my PC. And, I can cause the HD rig to crash on purpose by doing stuff that my PC will do all day long.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com