Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2020 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=160)
-   -   How to upgrade license from 2015 student license (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=412444)

dailymc1 10-30-2020 06:06 AM

How to upgrade license from 2015 student license
 
Hi all,

Whilst at Uni (finally) completing my MA, I purchased the 'FOR LIFE' Pro Tools license. However, as you can see from my kit list, altho my 2008 Mac Pro is quite fast enuff to run my studio, as I refused to play the 'Upgrade Wars, I finally had to make the plunge, as I couldn't upgrade my OS (last one was El Capitan... frustrating as my machine is well capable.. Apple ay!?) & so therefore, new software AND hardware!?
And so, have bought a 2019 iMac, & a UAD Apollo audio interface, wiv the new iMac running Catalina. However, my 'LICENSE FOR LIFE' won't work...
Please advise

Many thanks

Paul aka; DailyMc

ChuckS 10-30-2020 06:27 AM

Re: How to upgrade license from 2015 student license
 
Maybe you should move this to Licensing and Accounts - Avid support looks in there regularly.

Darryl Ramm 10-30-2020 06:33 AM

Re: How to upgrade license from 2015 student license
 
You might want to read the license agreement carefully. I doubt Avid granted you a license for all future upgrades and no Avid license I am aware of talks about 'for life'.

Are you talking standard or Ultimate?

I expect the preferred way Avid will want you to proceed is for you to purchase a monthly or annual subscription to standard or Ultimate. Not sure if you can surrender your current edu license as a "cross grade" (Avid's awful confusing marketing term-for that)... this is maybe a question you want to ask.

Sone dealers seem able to issue renewals on lapsed support plans on perpetusl licenses, Avid does not directly. You should contact a large Avid reseller for the UK and ask them what your options are there.

Rich Breen 10-30-2020 08:12 AM

Re: How to upgrade license from 2015 student license
 
Prob'ly means he bought a "perpetual" license - all that means is it's not subscription, but it doesn't mean it's gonna work in perpetuity with future OS/Hardware releases. You either freeze the machine/OS at the versioin that works with your software (Pro Tools, etc) or you move on and keep up to date with your Pro Tools version.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com