Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=411084)

Matt Stephanson 01-12-2021 05:28 PM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
Thanks again, Jeff + others!

I’m sending the 7.1 mon outs thru to the omni because i wanted to have the mtrx do the ad and da for the console i/o. 16 lines into the asp4816 for mics, 16 lines out of the mixer into the mtrx studio - then 16 out from Pro Tools back into the mixer for analog mixing.

I figured it’d be easy to set up the omni as a mon setup
I’m rethinking this now, as the da is likely nicer out of the mtrx anyway.
Then I’d just be using the omni for ch 9-16 out to the mixer (1-8 fr. the mtrx).

I will give this a shot tomorrow.
Anyway, thanks for these thought-provoking insights and questions.
This is a great forum - glad it’s (and you’re) here!
Matt

creativecontrol 01-12-2021 06:19 PM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LDS (Post 2590207)
Good to know, Jeff. I guess that implies the expansion port works exactly the same way it ever has?

Indeed. The DigiLink functionality on the MTRX Studio as well as the MTRX hasn't changed very much. There was additional work done when we added the DigiLink expansion cards for MTRX to ensure that the nomenclature made sense for lots of DigiLink IO.

best,


Jeff

gives 01-12-2021 06:57 PM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pablovius (Post 2572095)
thanks for being there Jeff....

Problem solved Jeff, I was running Dadman vs 5.3.4.3 which was the latest from DAD.. 5.4.2.1 did the trick (From Avid's page)

cheers

Jeff IS THE MAN! He helped me on some Dolby stuff a month ago.

G

Matt Stephanson 01-13-2021 12:13 PM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
*Hangs head in shame for ongoing saga of my bungling.* :o

Ok, I've created my monitor profile and labeled everything I need.
I've also switched the wiring so the Mons are fed from the MTRX, instead of the OMNI, as Jeff suggested.

My setup is 16 lines out from the mixer to the MTRX Studio, then 8 out from Dante to the DA of the MTRX into my 7.1 mons.
Then I have 8 out from the MTRX into the mixer 1-8 DAW inputs, and 8 out from the OMNI for mixer in 9-16 (to do analog mixing).

If it's easier, I'm posting my profile for inspection here, as it's kinda hard to explain all the crosspoints, etc. The zip contains my profile and dms.

I'm still not getting audio into or out of the MTRX Studio, so not sure if it's my matrix layout, or what. All show green lock circles in DADman.

I've routed everything in Pro Tools accordingly, and also in Dante Controller app.

Thanks for any ideas.

creativecontrol 01-13-2021 01:37 PM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
Your Monitor Profile shows a single 7.1 SMPTE ordered Source called Control Room and a single Output set called Neumann 7.1 which is also in SMPTE order assigned to DA Line Outs 1-8.

I would ask if you have meter deflection in the following places:

(1) In Dante Controller (Device View) focusing on MTRX ST - Receive Tab should show Green speakers if your Dante stream is getting there.

(2) In DADman -> you should see meter deflection both on the Source Input fader of your CR Monitor (Mon) as well as in the patchbay (Con section).


Jeff

Matt Stephanson 01-18-2021 08:46 AM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
Hi Jeff,

1. Thanks, my speaker icons in Dante Controller app are greyed out under the "Signal" column. Under the "Status" column, they are showing green checkmarks, just like in the main matrix view of the app (showing the transmitters and receivers).

2. I am not seeing any meters for DA or AD moving in DADman. I'm only seeing the physical meter move on the MTRX ST hardware when I plug a mic into the onboard micro #1. However, this mic does not show meter movement in DADman.

It must not be connecting to the Mac Dante or something?
Argh, wish I could buy you a beverage!

creativecontrol 01-18-2021 09:41 AM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
It sounds like you are not getting a valid Dante stream coming into your MTRX hardware. Here's what an active stream should look like:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3ovkixihpz...Tream.png?dl=0

This example shows Dante Virtual Soundcard (computer name = RADCLIFFroad) from my computer actively streaming into the MTRX hardware.

It would be helpful if you posted some screengrabs from device info, clock status and network status.


Also - have you verified that you are on the latest firmware plus the current version of DADman?

best,



Jeff

Matt Stephanson 01-18-2021 09:49 AM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
3 Attachment(s)
THanks, here's those shots attached:

creativecontrol 01-18-2021 10:15 AM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
Looks like your DVS clock is not locked to PTP. Here's an article from the Audinate knowledge base:

https://www.audinate.com/learning/fa...nte-controller


Jeff

Matt Stephanson 01-18-2021 10:21 AM

Re: MTRX Studio DADman-Network Connection Error
 
OK, I was on 5.4.2.1 now on latest 5.4.4.2.
I was on 1.0,0,1 firmware, now on 1.0,3.2.

Immediately I see the mic from the MTRXst rear panel deflecting!
No DA metering yet, but one step closer!

Once the unit restarted after firmware update, the drum loop in pro tools that was playing played out over my surround speakers - but only for about 1.5 seconds, then stopped.

Feel so close . . .:-)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com