Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Word2001 Mac conflicts, Conflict Catcher, Windows emulators (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=38602)

dave23 02-16-2001 07:14 AM

Word2001 Mac conflicts, Conflict Catcher, Windows emulators

Hello,

Three questions for the more Mac and software experienced:

1. I'm a writer and I can't afford another computer right now even though I know a music Mac should ideally only be running music apps. I need to get MS Word 2001 Mac and I need to know if it has any known history of conflicting with music apps or other 3rd party apps on the same machine. Appleworks 6 was a nightmare until I removed it and I'm hoping Word is more stable. Anyone have Word/Office 2001 Mac on the same Mac as Digi001/PT LE and other music apps? What's the word in terms of conflicts and stability?

2. I've asked about Conflict Catcher in the past and I've gotten some good info and links but I still need a basic functional question about it answered by anyone who has used it to try and solve the kinds of conflict crashes I have. Will Conflict Catcher let me manage conflicting extensions in a way that makes my Mac stable and able to have almost any program in conjunction with things like music apps?

3. This might be the wrong place to ask, but maybe not. Does anyone know if any or all of the major Windows emulators for the Mac will also run PC programming suites like Visual Basic Studio (V Basic, V C++, V FoxPro, V InterDev, V J++)?

thanks,

dave23

shaggy 02-16-2001 03:20 PM

Re: Word2001 Mac conflicts, Conflict Catcher, Windows emulators

Dave,

I've installed 2001 sans IE & Entourage on a 604e and OS 8.6 working fine.

Ditto on the 9.04 Wallstreet w/ Entourage (but kept IE 5.0) However the new G-3 Powerbook running 9.04 & IE 5.5 & Entourage has been acting up.