Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   2 versions of same song - recommendations (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=416570)

eheilner 08-10-2021 11:45 AM

2 versions of same song - recommendations

I want to create a single version and an extended version of the same underlying music. I've finished up the extended version. For the single version I'm not doing anything fancy, just selecting out sections from the extended version.

Looking for recommendations on best practices. I've done due diligence trying to find a solution but haven't seen anything. Maybe I don't have the correct search terms - still a bit of a novice here.

If it matters, the extended is roughly 6' 30" and the single will be a bit over 3'.

albee1952 08-10-2021 01:11 PM

Re: 2 versions of same song - recommendations

Just use the Save As option to save the "other" version. IOW, if the long one is saved as the same session name that you have had all along, when you shorten the song, Save As "song name single" or whatever makes the most sense to you. I save multiple versions of most every session I do. Since the first mix is rarely the "keeper", my mixes each get saved like this:
"Song Name Mix 1"
"Song Name Mix 2"
"Song Name Mix 3'
"Song Name Mix 4'
Sometimes, they get more specific, like
"Song Name Vocal Up"
When I get too many versions listed, I move older session files to the backups folder(where PT saves its auto-saved versions), or I add a new folder(inside the main session folder) named "Older mixes". BTW, I don't actually use the "" marks(those are just to help describe the action of naming things)

eheilner 08-11-2021 07:31 AM

Thank you albee1952 & Robruce. That's pretty much what I was thinking. I had the vague notion that there would be some way to keep the two versions inside one session and switch back and forth - so as not to duplicate material.