Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=164)
-   -   MTRX Studio & AES Outputs (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=418502)

talkbacksound 01-08-2022 10:58 AM

MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
Hi all- I'm in the process of upgrading from my trusty old HD I/O to either MTRX Studio or "full-fat" MTRX. I really like the form factor of the MTRX Studio, as well as the meters, headphone outs and built-in mic pres (I know I can achieve all of that with the MTRX but it would require a ton of modular upgrades).


However my one big issue with the MTRX Studio is the lack of "traditional" digital outputs. I've got a Genelec 7360/8341 2.1 setup and would really like to go AES in rather than analog. With my HD I/O it's a simple one cable solution from interface to speaker. After much research I believe the only way to do this with the MTRX Studio would be either an expensive ADAT to AES box, or possibly a Dante to AES adapter- but I believe there are sample rate limitations with both of these possibilities.



I want to make sure I'm making the right decision/investments. Am I missing something? Any and all help/insight would be very much appreciated!


Josh

BScout 01-08-2022 11:09 AM

Re: MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
Your Genelec 7360/8341 only go up to 96k (you may not have known this but you can check with Genelec)
The Dante AVIO AES goes up to 96k.

So no real problem

talkbacksound 01-08-2022 11:32 AM

Re: MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
Thanks for the reply BScout. Although according to the 7360 manual the digital audio input sample rate range is 32-192kHz. For now anyway it's a bit of a moot point- as I rarely do any audio work above 48kHz. I just kind of like knowing I could- as well as trying my best to "future-proof" my setup for evolving workflows/sample rates.

BScout 01-08-2022 12:58 PM

Re: MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
The Genelecs internally resample incoming digital signal to 96kHz at max. So even if you feed it 192k, it is processing only at 96k. (It's actually a little bit more complicated than that as the different drivers actually operate at lower sample rates so I say 96k but that's really for the tweeter. Which makes sense! There is no point processing at 192k for a subwoofer that only goes to 200Hz -- same for other drivers.)

If you want to be independent of sample rates, feed them analogue. Analogue or digital, it is being resampled when it gets into the Genelec. And the MTRX converters are very clean. There are some systems that do not resample digital signal (the Dynaudio Core speakers do not resample and operate at the input sample rate.) The Genelecs always resample any incoming signal.

talkbacksound 01-08-2022 01:20 PM

Re: MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
Ahh gotcha- thanks for the clarification. Do I also recall reading that the Dante AVIO adapter would do SRC on it's way from the MTRX into the Genelecs? I'm trying to avoid too many layers/levels of conversions.

uptheoctave 01-08-2022 03:08 PM

Re: MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
I went the full fat MTRX partly because had better and more flexible digital connectivity.

You can read my run down and reasoning here:

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...y-to-avid-mtrx

BScout 01-08-2022 04:00 PM

Re: MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by talkbacksound (Post 2624928)
Ahh gotcha- thanks for the clarification. Do I also recall reading that the Dante AVIO adapter would do SRC on it's way from the MTRX into the Genelecs? I'm trying to avoid too many layers/levels of conversions.

No SRC from the AVIO
It stays locked to the sample rate of the Dante network. Very few devices have SRC for Dante. (Like even on the full MTRX, you need the 128 channel Dante slot-card for SRC. The 64 channel Dante add-on module doesn’t)

talkbacksound 01-08-2022 04:04 PM

Re: MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
Hey James! Thanks for your input. And in fact I've read your review several times :-)


I think the allure of the Studio was that I wouldn't have to add a Dante card (if I did indeed delve into that world at some point), as well as having 2 mic pres and the 2 headphones built right in. And the visuals meters. And even the ease of a front panel dial that could be used for volume and other things. So much to like about it.



Really if the Studio had AES or even SPDIF that I could do a simple converter box out to the Genelecs I'd be thrilled. As it is though, there is no "one size fits all" solution, at least for my personal studio logistics. I suppose some would argue that's exactly the idea behind MTRX- configuring to your exact needs. That said- after all of the modular additions to the chassis (as well as 2 headphone amps, 2 additional mic pres, etc.), that's up near or above the $10K mark.


The irony of the situation is that my current HD I/O (and a few outboard items) pretty much meets my needs...but I was hoping to get into the most current tech and upgrades with my PT setup. Of course that also means learning DADman, getting an ethernet switch for Dante, etc. But...such is the life of a studio owner/engineer/tech enthusiast. And let's not even get into the impending Mac upgrade...once all the planets are aligned!


If anyone else out there has additional thoughts or experience with a similar situation I'm all ears (well, eyes).


Cheers.

Nico Berthold 01-09-2022 01:22 AM

Re: MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
Hi Josh,

I have a similar setup and problem, feeding my Kii Three with AES Input out of a MTRX Studio.
As I had an unused RME ADI-192 Format converter lying around, I went from ADAT out into ADI-8 - AES Out into the Kii. As I am doing mostly post production, I don't have to worry about sample rates beyond 48K, but if you need to, you could always go the SMUX route or use the RMEs build in sample rate conversion.

uptheoctave 01-10-2022 10:50 AM

Re: MTRX Studio & AES Outputs
 
RedNet D16R is an option too, although it isn't necessarily the cheapest route.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com