Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | Carbon (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=161)
-   -   Installing New Plugins DSP (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=418350)

cp15 12-27-2021 11:51 AM

Installing New Plugins DSP
 
Hello!
So I am new to ProTools and Carbon as of a couple months ago.

Is it possible to install new plugins and have them run as DSP and not Native?
I only use a few of the DSP plugins that came w Carbon. Every new plugin I have installed has to run Native. Is there a way to install or configure so they run DSP?

Or if there is already a thread on this, please show me the way.

thanks!

albee1952 12-27-2021 01:18 PM

Re: Installing New Plugins DSP
 
First of all, you need to buy plugins that offer AAX-DSP(and many do not). Then, when you run the installer, just pay attention for any messages during the install that mention DSP versions, so IF(the great big "if") something needs to be checked or selected, that you don't miss that by mistake. I would bet that 99% of plugins that can operated in DSP mode, will install correctly without much intervention from the user:o

JFreak 12-27-2021 01:19 PM

Re: Installing New Plugins DSP
 
Hi, welcome to the community.

As said, if the plugin only says "AAX" it most probably is native. Plugin vendors take pride to explicitly mention "AAX-DSP" if they have DSP version available.

cp15 12-27-2021 01:38 PM

Re: Installing New Plugins DSP
 
OK thanks. Do either of you recommend or know of any companies for good plugins that are DSP? I would like to steer towards DSP if possible.

JFreak 12-27-2021 01:40 PM

Re: Installing New Plugins DSP
 
Sonnox is my favourite, also plugin-alliance has some good ones.

dominicperry 12-27-2021 02:53 PM

Re: Installing New Plugins DSP
 
Carbon comes with a bunch of free plugins, some of which run as AAX-DSP.
Look in your Avid account, under the Carbon section, for codes for :

Included plugins and addons:

Arturia
Embody
McDSP
Native Instruments
Plugin Alliance
UVI

trimix 12-28-2021 09:14 AM

Re: Installing New Plugins DSP
 
Softube has a bunch of legacy AAX DSP plug-ins, most of which are included in their Volume 5;

Summit Audio Grand Channel
Summit Audio EQF-100
Summit Audio TLA-100A
Trident A-Range
Active Equalizer
Focusing Equalizer
Passive Equalizer
FET Compressor
Fix Doubler
Saturation Knob
Transient Shaper
Spring Reverb
Tube Delay
Acoustic Feedback
Bass Amp Room
Vintage Amp Room

I use their Tube-Tech Complete Collection as well, which adds;

Tube-Tech Classic Channel
Tube-Tech CL1B
Tube-Tech ME 1B
Tube-Tech PE 1C

I like their Valley People Dyna-mite too.

Will Russell 12-29-2021 03:36 AM

Re: Installing New Plugins DSP
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cp15 (Post 2623781)
OK thanks. Do either of you recommend or know of any companies for good plugins that are DSP? I would like to steer towards DSP if possible.

Everything Avid
Sonnox
McDSP
Plugin Alliance
Softube
MassenburgDesignworks
Metric Halo

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...l-products-out

JFreak 12-29-2021 05:57 AM

Re: Installing New Plugins DSP
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Will Russell (Post 2623935)
Everything Avid

Pretty much given nowadays, because "everyone" has the complete plugin bundle that includes DSP

abc1mce2 01-13-2022 08:52 PM

Re: Installing New Plugins DSP
 
Empirical Labs Arousor is AAX DSP. It's a great compressor based on their Distressor with a few added goodies.
Also, their BIG Freq Eq is AAX Native at the moment. I recently received an email from Empirical Labs informing me they are working to release an AAX DSP version of BIG Freq Eq in the very near future.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:54 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com