Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Virtual Instruments (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=416396)

ArkMusic 07-28-2021 01:37 AM

Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
Hi! Been an avid lurker on these forums for some time, and this is my first post and question.

I am working on a track that has a lot of MIDI/VI's, over 25 or more including drums. Also I have around 5 tracks that are Mono Audio tracks.
I started out building up each section of the song, about 4 in total. Yesterday I went to arrange it properly and structure the song, so it starts with an intro, then verse parts and chorus parts etc..

The thing is: I had no lag issues before I started copying sections and making the session longer. When each section had just one instance (one verse part, one chorus part), everything was playing smoothly, but as soon as I duplicated them (two verse parts and three chorus parts), my session became laggy, audio crackles constantly, and theres a delay when pressing play.

Does anyone here have any experience with this problem? Why is session length more taxing on my computer than number of VI's? Because I didn't add any new instruments when I started structuring the song, I just duplicated midi data. And is there any way to mitigate these performance issues?

I have 16 Gbs of RAM, an intel i7 5820 @4.2 Ghz, latest Windows 10 update, running latest Pro Tools I think, 2021.6.
:D:D

musicman691 07-28-2021 04:19 AM

Re: Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
A few things to try:
Make sure your computer is optimized for audio work.

Go for the highest setting for buffers in PT.
Track commit.
More ram if you can do it.
Do you have any count-off set?



What vi plugins are you using? If any are from Arturia they have some that are real cpu eaters. Are any of the vi's you're using sample players/samplers? If you're using samplers where are the samples stored? Also are you running off of ssd's or spinner drives? You may well have a throughput issue happening with the longer session.

ArkMusic 07-31-2021 12:11 PM

Re: Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
why can't I reply to this?

ArkMusic 07-31-2021 12:19 PM

Re: Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
Oh finally replying works.

Thank you Musicman691 for helping!
I usually have 512 as buffer size when not tracking, but I cranked it up to 1024 when problems occured, but it did not help with the crackling and lag issues.

Want to avoid committing tracks until I'm done arranging everything.
Just bought more ram to increase from 16gb to 32, hoping it helps
Count off was set, but not active when I had issues.

Using keyscapes, battery 4 for drums, xpand2, serum, analog strings by output, session strings pro 2 etc... but I find it weird that they were all working fine side by side when my session was short, but when I made the session longer it started to lag and cause performance issues...

I have pro tools and all my samples and VI's installed on my main os drive, which is a m.2 nvme ssd (samsung 980 evo 1tb something, iirc). When I am done with a project I transfer to another drive.

I am not familiar with throughput, what do you mean? :D:o

musicman691 08-01-2021 03:56 AM

Re: Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ArkMusic (Post 2609339)
why can't I reply to this?

You just did.
Could be any number of reasons why. A number of times different people here get a message saying they don't have permission to reply even in a thread they started. No rhyme nor reason it's happening and poster location has nothing to do with it.

JFreak 08-01-2021 04:24 AM

Re: Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ArkMusic (Post 2609339)
why can't I reply to this?

Hi, welcome to the community.

This forum system is not always nice for new memebers. You need certain amount of normal posts before it considers you a normal user. Avoid lengthy posts and frequent posting until you have decent post count. Also no links or attachments on your first posts. They go to manual approval.

Sorry about inconvenience.

unkJE 08-01-2021 08:02 PM

Re: Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ArkMusic (Post 2609339)
why can't I reply to this?

Welcome to the community ...

I started a new Thread to address the "Can't Reply" issue:

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=416447

unkJE 08-01-2021 09:21 PM

Re: Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ArkMusic (Post 2609021)
... The thing is: I had no lag issues before I started copying sections and making the session longer. When each section had just one instance (one verse part, one chorus part), everything was playing smoothly, but as soon as I duplicated them (two verse parts and three chorus parts), my session became laggy, audio crackles constantly, and theres a delay when pressing play.

(If you're not already!) - Perhaps using Memory Locations > Selection > highlight entire Session (plus a bit more, to include Reverb tails)

Pro Tools Advanced Vol 1 - click on the 2nd video: Advanced Markers Pt 1
https://www.groove3.com/tutorials/Pr...Advanced-Vol-1

ArkMusic 08-03-2021 01:58 AM

Re: Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by unkJE (Post 2609390)
(If you're not already!) - Perhaps using Memory Locations > Selection > highlight entire Session (plus a bit more, to include Reverb tails)

Pro Tools Advanced Vol 1 - click on the 2nd video: Advanced Markers Pt 1
https://www.groove3.com/tutorials/Pr...Advanced-Vol-1

Thank you! Will try this out tonight, I didn’t know you could do this with markers! Any and all tips are great, working with a laggy session and technical difficulties are such creativity killers

ArkMusic 08-05-2021 01:27 AM

Re: Increasing length of session makes Pro Tools lag?
 
It seems like upgrading my RAM fixed my issues, haven’t had any problems since going from 16gb to 32gb! My only guess is that increasing the amount of midi notes in my session required more memory to process it all, that how pro tools handles midi information is linked to Ram in a bigger way than I thought.
Thank you all for suggestions!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com