Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=236300)

Von_Dingle 01-11-2009 09:12 PM

PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument
 
I am trying to import a MIDI track into Pro Tools M-Powered 8 and have then run OUT into an Input on an Audio track running BFD 2 Lite for drums. I followed a short tutorial on this topic and I am unable to find an appropriate OUTPUT on my MIDI track to send it to my audio track. According to the tutorial, on the MIDI track, under IO I should be able to Output to my Audio track, but I only see:
http://i452.photobucket.com/albums/q...DIproblem1.jpg

How can I send a MIDI source to an Audio track to use a drum sampler like BFD2?

Thanks!
David

LSW 01-12-2009 06:33 AM

Re: PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument
 
Create an instrument track (not an audio track) and place an instance of BFD on it. Then assign that your output to that instance of BFD - it will display in the list the same as those others..

Von_Dingle 01-12-2009 09:18 AM

Re: PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LSW (Post 1333894)
Create an instrument track (not an audio track) and place an instance of BFD on it. Then assign that your output to that instance of BFD - it will display in the list the same as those others..

Thanks for the quick reply! I'll try that when I get home from work tonight and I'll let you know how it worked out for me.

Von_Dingle 01-13-2009 07:43 AM

Re: PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument
 
LSW,
Thanks for the help, that worked perfectly! I was used to the way I had to do it in Cakewalk and Sonor where I had to create an Audio track AND a MIDI track and send MIDI to the Audio input. The Pro Tools Instrument tracks makes things a lot easier.

LSW 01-13-2009 03:13 PM

Re: PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument
 
Glad you got it working. The theory is the same, it's just an instrument track in PT. Also I didn't mention, and I don't know if you ended up setting it up this way anyway - you don't actually need the MIDI track - the MIDI data and instrument can all be part of the instrument track itself. It just depends on how you want to split things up.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:57 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com