Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   HD i/o 96 (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417121)

martinh 09-21-2021 07:21 AM

HD i/o 96
 
Hi, I have an I/o 96 and was sold a spare one which was broken but with two functioning input and output cards. There is clearly 2 slots empty for 8 other ins and outs, so last night I stripped out the cards from the old unit and added the two cards to the functioning unit (slots 3 and 4) expecting to have 16 ins and 16 out. But no.

The device could not be found on the card, was the error message. No matter how much messing I could not get it to work. Even in the instruction manual they have 4 cards in place so am I doing something wrong or is it not actually designed to house 4 cards??

Thanks in advance to those smarter than me who can answer this question.

JFreak 09-21-2021 07:23 AM

Re: HD i/o 96
 
Hi, welcome to the community.

It cannot be done. 96 is a special version that only accepts cards in slots one and two. But you now have some spare ones in case one of them breaks.

martinh 09-21-2021 07:26 AM

Re: HD i/o 96
 
Hi Janne,

Thanks for the reply and the welcome.

I suspected this to be the case but it is stupid. Why leave two spare slots and then make me connect a whole different unit?

Like you say, spare cards (or somewhere to put my cup of tea).

Cheers

JFreak 09-21-2021 07:29 AM

Re: HD i/o 96
 
That's where Avid HD chassis fixed things. There are no limitations to card configurations. The chassis are all the same.

But the old blue DigiDesign interfaces were another story. All of them were different. The 96 (8in, 8out), the 96i (16in, 2out), the 192digital (16in, 16out, digital only), the 192analog (analog and digital, flexible configuration with the exception that slot 3 must be digital card or empty).

So in other words you need the gray Avid HD chassis for 16 analog inputs and 16 analog outputs.

martinh 09-21-2021 07:31 AM

Re: HD i/o 96
 
Time to spend some more money LOL

JFreak 09-21-2021 07:31 AM

Re: HD i/o 96
 
Oh, and if you buy another chassis later, bear in mind that old DigiDesign cards cannot be used in new Avid chassis and vice versa.

martinh 09-21-2021 07:33 AM

Re: HD i/o 96
 
cool thanks.

JFreak 09-21-2021 07:34 AM

Re: HD i/o 96
 
no problem


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com