Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   first mac pro to ptle8.3 (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=311445)

redchair 11-09-2011 07:28 AM

first mac pro to ptle8.3
 
i have read all the info alerts etc. I just got a brand new mac pro
2X2.4 GHz Quad-core Intel Xeon
6GB 1066 DDR 3
Macintosh HD
Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2

my pro tools that i installed
PTLE Mac 8.0 then upgraded too 8.3
Digi 003

Saw an alert that lion is not compatible. although, i got everything intalled everything works great so far. The only thing. Is my right click mouse, doesn't work. Within a session. Nothing happens. for example. Right clicking arrows to expand or change track views etc. It however works on the tab bars too expand . Any ideas. or is this why its not compatible with Lion yet.

albee1952 11-09-2011 07:45 AM

Re: first mac pro to ptle8.3
 
From the compatibility pages:

Mac OS X Lion Compatibility

Please Note: Pro Tools 9.0.4 and all earlier versions of Pro Tools software are not compatible and will not work with OS X Lion. With the following exception: Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 with Patch 003.

Looks like you might be in luck if you get that patch:rolleyes:(except it says its for Pro Tools SE), but otherwise, you need to upgrade to 9.0.5 or PT10.

redchair 11-13-2011 08:22 AM

Re: first mac pro to ptle8.3
 
thanks for the reply
you know after i downloaded the 8.05 update. The click problem went away. Everything works fine. At this point.

however. Do you have a resource or link. To show me steps to maximize my mac pro performance using pt. I had this down with windows. Though, aim lost with mac.

nst7 11-13-2011 10:58 AM

Re: first mac pro to ptle8.3
 
One of the recommended things is in the playback engine, set one less than all processors for Protools. In your case, it will see 16 cores because of virtual cores. Set 15 to process Protools. You may want to set even less if it works better. This leaves at least one processor for other tasks.

redchair 11-14-2011 08:12 AM

Re: first mac pro to ptle8.3
 
thanks for the taking the time to help me out. I definently was wondering about this. 16 number.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com