Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   Composer/sound designer looking to upgrade to a better studio Mac - but which? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417025)

randolphschwiemerfield 09-14-2021 02:54 AM

Composer/sound designer looking to upgrade to a better studio Mac - but which?

I’m a film and TV composer and sound designer. I’ve currently got a 2018 Mac Mini in my studio but it’s starting to feel sluggish and doesn’t always handle everything I want it to do (many plug-in instances etc). Im ready to invest in an upgrade, but not sure what I should go with - a high spec iMac, or a newer Mini? A Mac Pro would be great but seems pretty insanely expensive.

Also not quite clear to me whether it’s safe to go with M1 yet, or whether there will be too much software I depend on that won’t run on it.

Hope someone can give some advice on this.

JFreak 09-14-2021 03:02 AM

Re: Composer/sound designer looking to upgrade to a better studio Mac - but which?

Apple Silicon is not safe yet, and until Avid first releases native PT all of the plugins are running on Rosetta too.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

randolphschwiemerfield 09-14-2021 03:13 AM

Re: Composer/sound designer looking to upgrade to a better studio Mac - but which?

Thanks - according to the Avid website Protools 2021 is ok.

JFreak 09-14-2021 03:16 AM

Apple Silicon disables a lot of things, PT is not running natively but on Rosetta

its2loud 09-14-2021 06:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by randolphschwiemerfield (Post 2613578)