Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Original MacPro - Which PCI Slot (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=261621)

thekrynn 12-16-2009 03:16 PM

Original MacPro - Which PCI Slot
 
Hello.. I'm adding an Accel HD1 system to an original MacPro of mine -- Dual 2.66. The machine's setup to do 8/8/4/4 for the lane speeds (as I'm using the graphics card in lane 1 and have 2 other cards - a fibre channel board and a video editing board).

The fibre channel only requires 4x but the video can work in either 4 or 8. Question is... does it matter and is it a performance difference between putting the HD in either the 4x or the 8x slot?

drenkrom 12-17-2009 07:05 AM

Re: Original MacPro - Which PCI Slot
 
The PCIe PT cards are 1x so any additional lanes won't even be contacting the card. You don't specify what "video editing board" model you have, but I'd be inclined to give that the remaining 8x lane, as bandwidth is sure to be much more of an issue with that than with the Core card.

As any time you combine differing PCI cards in a computer, you may have to swap them around while troubleshooting if things go way wrong, but I haven't had to do this personally on a MacPro up to now and I've set up a few funky systems.

IHTH


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com