Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Powered USB hub issue (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=296767)

Sonic Blue Meanie 03-13-2011 12:16 PM

Powered USB hub issue
 
I'm chasing an issue with a high pitched noise I get when PT starts up with my mbox2. I've read the issue might be solved by using a powered usb hub instead uf the usb connections on my imac.

I bought a 4-port Kensington hub and connected the mbox2 to it and from there to the imac. Now Protools appears to open but will not play, neither will itunes. When I hook it back the way I had it, still get the noise, but all works fine.

When I go back and reconnect the Kensington, I get the following error message-
"PT cannot communicate with the mbox2. Please make sure the mbox2 is connected and not set to AC-3 mode. I checked prefferences and AC-3 is not checked and it says the mbox2 is connected. I've searched the issue but not finding anything."

and...

"PT could not set sample rate to specified value"

Any ideas?

Park Seward 03-13-2011 01:09 PM

Re: Powered USB hub issue
 
From Digi:

"Mbox is designed to work on a single, dedicated USB port build into your computer. We do not support its use on any hubs, adapters, expansion cards, or the USB port on the side of your USB keyboard."

Sonic Blue Meanie 03-13-2011 08:45 PM

Re: Powered USB hub issue
 
Really? Very interesting. I guess that leads to my next question, which is anyone else experience a this, low volume, high pitch noise when protools boots up? And if so what can be done about it?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com