Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=249047)

jasonguitar 06-28-2009 04:08 PM

How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
Each time I load a particular session in Pro Tools M-Powered (7.3.1cs7), I get the following message: 2 Audio files, 0 Fade files, and 0 video files are missing..."

I have chosen to "Skip All" each time because I have all the audio files and fade files that I need in the session. However, this message keeps appearing each time I load this session. How do I keep this from happening?

Thanks in advance for your help!

stonehenge 06-28-2009 06:57 PM

Re: How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
i ran into that before but don't remember exactly how i fixed it. it was either using the task manager or maybe doing a save session copy in. sorry.

Keybeeetsss 06-28-2009 09:06 PM

Re: How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
Go into the regions list view(the 1 on the right of the edit window) Look thru the files until u see ones that are sorta italicized for lack of a better description... click on all of them(if its ur 1st time doin it u may wanna write down the missing files to make sure u dont grab the wrong things) anywayz, get all those files highlighted, go up to the dropdown menu in the same window, go to select, choose clear unused regions, & then when the popup ask to remove or delete, hold alt+click on delete & that'll do it...

jasonguitar 06-29-2009 02:12 PM

Re: How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss (Post 1419056)
Go into the regions list view(the 1 on the right of the edit window) Look thru the files until u see ones that are sorta italicized for lack of a better description... click on all of them(if its ur 1st time doin it u may wanna write down the missing files to make sure u dont grab the wrong things) anywayz, get all those files highlighted, go up to the dropdown menu in the same window, go to select, choose clear unused regions, & then when the popup ask to remove or delete, hold alt+click on delete & that'll do it...

The strange thing is that there are no files that are shown in italics in the regions list, and all of the files in my regions list are being used. Any other ideas?

Keybeeetsss 06-29-2009 07:27 PM

Re: How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
U may want to check again b/c there has to be if ur getting the missing files popup... ur in the Region window to the right on the mix window & not the 1 on the left correct?...

RichrdC 06-30-2009 09:03 AM

Re: How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
If you do end up deleting all unused regions as keybeeetssss has mentioned, (good idea... loosens up some memory) make sure you've unhidden any tracks that you may have Unactivated from the list on the left side of your session... Otherwise, you could end up deleting something you really didn't want to...

DigiTechSupt 06-30-2009 01:39 PM

Re: How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
Also make sure that 'Show>Autocreated' is enabled in the drop-down list....

001tony 06-30-2009 02:04 PM

Re: How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
You might want to save to different location and then your deleting from a backup, just incase you delete some files you need.

jasonguitar 06-30-2009 02:32 PM

Re: How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
Great! I made sure that I selected "Autocreated" in the drop-down list, and I was able to find the 2 audio files that I needed to delete. Now I just have two fade files that I have to delete. How do I find those? There are no fade files in the "Fade Files" folder on my hard drive.

Thanks for the help!

Keybeeetsss 06-30-2009 02:35 PM

Re: How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads?
 
Actually u can try & regenerate missing fade files when the initial popup comes up saying that they are missing... Just check the box that has that option & see if that helps... thatz just usually what I do when I have missing fade files...


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com