Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Ram Upgrade on Mac Pro 2019 for 96khz (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=422722)

Paulienat 12-06-2022 02:03 AM

Ram Upgrade on Mac Pro 2019 for 96khz

Hi,

as a composer I'm using many virtual instruments and heavy sample libraries on 96khz sessions, like Spitfire, Keyscape etc...so it happens that I use all the 48gb of Ram on a Mac Pro 2019 12 core.

I've also noticed better ram performances on Ableton Live, looks like PT on this combination of processor and Ram is more cpu/ram demanding.

And obviously at 48khz it takes half the amount of Ram on the same session.

Anyway I want to upgrade the Ram filling all the 6 modules left available.

I can add 48gb (8gbX6) with a total of 96gb or (double the price) add 96gb for a total of 144gb, but I have the feeling that 144 gb is an overkill because of the cpu performance limits that probably I would hit in any case.

Any feedback out there?

Thanks

Darryl Ramm 12-06-2022 02:33 AM

Re: Ram Upgrade on Mac Pro 2019 for 96khz

Unclear exactly what DIMMs you have installed now. Or if you are looking at exactly the same make/model DIMMs. You maximize performance when you populate each memory channel equally and reduce risk of problems by matching exact make/model/part number across all DIMMs.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paulienat (Post 2655195)
And obviously at 48khz it takes half the amount of Ram on the same session.

I am not sure these is a simple relationship between sample rate and memory usage.

You might be low on memory, but how are you determining this? Does Activity Monitor showing memory pressure happening? What problems are you seeing? Looking at memory used/free can give an unrealistic idea about memory use as apps will just tend to bloat, consume lots of memory until put under some memory pressure.