Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | First Discussion (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   How to copy a project (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=418006)

Robape 12-01-2021 04:50 AM

How to copy a project
 
Hi,
Is it at all possible to arrange a project up to a point where you want to save it and reuse it for other projects?

albee1952 12-01-2021 06:26 AM

Re: How to copy a project
 
Hmmm, I'm on the regular version so things may be different, but... First off, stop creating "Projects" and start creating and working with "Sessions". As I understand it, a project lives in the cloud(not where I want my files)and a session lives on your local hard drive. With any session, I can go to the File menu and choose "Save Copy"(which allows me to save a copy of my session, which is smart and I can back up my session to another drive). From that same menu, I can also choose "Save as Template", which I believe is what you want.

Go to youtube and search for using templates in pro tools and see if you can find some tutorials. If you're serious about recording AND you want to stick with Pro Tools, I would move to the full version as PT First is extremely limited:o If your budget doesn't allow for this, then check out Reaper. Its a very capable DAW program that is free to try and cheap to buy:-)

Robape 12-01-2021 01:47 PM

Re: How to copy a project
 
Thanks! great answer.
It took me quite a while to get where i am now with pro tools first.
So, to think about starting over and learning a brand new DAW isn't very tempting.. on the other hand if i keep bumping in to the same limitations then why the heck not.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com