Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 11 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=115)
-   -   PT11 HD and non-HD on same machine? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=352360)

bblair 03-15-2014 07:35 AM

PT11 HD and non-HD on same machine?
 
I want to be able to run PT11 HD Native via Thunderbolt from my mac mini. I require HD because I need surround mixing capability.

I'd also like to be able to leave the thunderbolt interface at the studio and take just my mac mini home using the built in output.

My understanding is that HD will not work without either the HDX Native pci card or the Native Thunderbolt interface connected. Is that correct? If so, then I would also need the non-HD version of Pro Tools for mobility.

Can HD and non-HD be installed on the same machine?

Or am I incorrect in my understanding that HD software requires Avid hardware?

albee1952 03-15-2014 07:52 AM

Re: PT11 HD and non-HD on same machine?
 
The software is the same in all installations. Its the iLok asset that tells Pro Tools whether to open as HD or non-HD. As long as your iLok has the HD asset on it, Pro Tools will open with all HD features, with the exception of DSP(no HDX cards=no DSP) and you will be limited on inputs(32 with native hdwr, 64 with an HD/Native card).

bblair 03-15-2014 08:41 AM

Re: PT11 HD and non-HD on same machine?
 
Awesome, thanks for the quick response.

So, if I have the HD ilok asset, my pro tools software will have surround capability, even if I don't have the native thunderbolt interface attached?

nst7 03-15-2014 08:50 AM

Re: PT11 HD and non-HD on same machine?
 
That is correct.

Since you'll only be using the Mac's built in output, which is just stereo, you'll want to use the Avid Downmixer plugin to fold the surround channels down to a stereo mix, so you can hear everything.''

The Downmixer plugin is included with the software. However, it does not work on a master fader, I think it's only on audio or aux tracks.

bblair 03-15-2014 08:53 AM

Re: PT11 HD and non-HD on same machine?
 
That's great news! Thanks to all for your help.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com