Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=344199)

ianbee 09-07-2013 11:45 AM

Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Is there a difference between the regular Mbox 3 and the Mbox Pro 3 in terms of preamp quality?

Eric Seaberg 09-08-2013 06:48 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
I bought a Pro because they 'claim' the pres are better. However I sent mine to Black Lion Audio and had them do a full upgrade to everything. The Pro NOW sounds as good as my SSL console!!!

Darryl Ramm 09-08-2013 06:51 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ianbee (Post 2080410)
Is there a difference between the regular Mbox 3 and the Mbox Pro 3 in terms of preamp quality?

Yes--but never done a controller shoot out, but maybe more importantly for many folks the Pro preamps can be fully bypassed when using line input.

Darryl

YYR123 09-08-2013 06:51 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg (Post 2080775)
I bought a Pro because they 'claim' the pres are better. However I sent mine to Black Lion Audio and had them do a full upgrade to everything. The Pro NOW sounds as good as my SSL console!!!

Are they very transparent sounding or do they have color?

Eric Seaberg 09-09-2013 08:35 AM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
They sound like a straight wire with gain and amazing A/D. That's my preference for working, anyway. I'd rather choose the mic for the sound and not the preamp.

nst7 09-09-2013 09:28 AM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
As far as I know, the preamps are pretty similar in the 2 units, though the specs are a little different.

However, the Mbox Pro has a more substantial power supply, being AC powered, which typically lends itself to a bit more headroom and lower THD.

As was mentioned, being able to go line in and bypass the pre's (on the Pro) is a nice feature if you are using external preamps.

HippyFunk 05-18-2014 08:51 AM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Did you listen to the pre's on the MBox before you sent them to BlackLion for an "upgrade"?
AND, since when have an SSL console's mic-pre's been the standard for pristine quality? (No offense to those of you who love SSL's. They do have their merits). Well, ok, the 9000 series. I just always thought earlier SSL's pre's didn't sound all that great. Kind of harsh, sterile, even "thin" sounding to me....

Eric Seaberg 05-18-2014 09:05 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
I've been in the recording biz since 1971, working in some of the best studios on the west coast during the late 70s early 80s. I did listen before and after, and our current SSL is a C200... but thanks for asking.

philip888 05-18-2014 09:51 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg (Post 2080775)
I bought a Pro because they 'claim' the pres are better. However I sent mine to Black Lion Audio and had them do a full upgrade to everything. The Pro NOW sounds as good as my SSL console!!!

Eric is this the MOD you had done?

http://blacklionaudio.com/product/mbox-3-pro/

Premium Modification
The Mbox 3 Pro Premium Modification includes everything in the Standard Mod, but goes a step beyond. In addition to the new op-amps, we also install new audio-grade electrolytic capacitors that dramatically improve bass response and tame the brittle-sounding high end noticeable with the Mbox 3 Pro. Most “affordable” audio gear use low-grade capacitors that will work okay, but just don’t sound very musical in the audio signal paths. We choose premium audio-grade caps that are MADE ESPECIALLY for processing audio signals and make a huge difference in the resulting sound. This kind of rich tone is very difficult, if not impossible, to find in low-powered recording interfaces like the Mbox 3 Pro, but can now be yours at a great price.

Eric Seaberg 05-18-2014 10:26 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Yup, the premium mod, along with their Micro Clock. Good stuff!!

Swamp Turkey 07-26-2015 08:46 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg (Post 2157709)
Yup, the premium mod, along with their Micro Clock. Good stuff!!

I might BE FORCED to go with this BLA mod for my Mbox 3 Pro even though Eric is the only person I have found who has actually done it (doesn't make me super confident). Why?

Well, BE WARNED MBOX 3 PRO USERS, apparently the Mbox 3 Pro's line inputs are WAY too hot when using an external preamp (which I had planned on using when I bought the interface).

I have to say, this makes me extremely disappointed in Avid's design specs and I feel like I have been fleeced. This will limit my creativity very much as I like to implement different preamp flavors on my recordings.

Has anyone heard if Avid is offering to attenuate the line input gains INSIDE the unit (as they rightly should)?

I do not want to get into using SPIDF or gerry-rigged resistor pads or Shure's separate pad. All are just a half-way patch job compared to what I want to do and what the Mbox 3 Pro PROMISED to do.

YYR123 07-27-2015 01:51 AM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Mbox3 came out in 2013 didn't it? If not 2012. I would assume Apogee's conversion is top notch nowadays (inside avid's corporate box obviously)

And that ought to say something that they are not developing a further hardware line for the mbox crowd. They sourced Apogee to do that

Swamp Turkey 07-27-2015 11:33 AM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
I bought Pro when it came out in 2012, yes. Intention was to use stock preamps until I saved for a good external pre. Conversion by Pro is good. Was hoping to use it for an interface for years to come.

It's strange to me that the mic inputs are too LOW and that the line inputs are too HOT. It makes one wonder if during manufacturing Avid switched/botched the specs. It would have made more sense to set gain other way around, no? That's my guess anyway.

They should offer in-house adjustments in my opinion.

Top Jimmy 07-27-2015 12:28 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Swamp Turkey (Post 2279922)
I bought Pro when it came out in 2012, yes. Intention was to use stock preamps until I saved for a good external pre. Conversion by Pro is good. Was hoping to use it for an interface for years to come.



It's strange to me that the mic inputs are too LOW and that the line inputs are too HOT. It makes one wonder if during manufacturing Avid switched/botched the specs. It would have made more sense to set gain other way around, no? That's my guess anyway.



They should offer in-house adjustments in my opinion.


Do you know that pulling the gain knob out engages a pad?

mesaone 07-27-2015 01:04 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by YYR123 (Post 2279830)
Mbox3 came out in 2013 didn't it? If not 2012.

2010.

YYR123 07-27-2015 01:10 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
2010 further proves the point that the jive bird was not fleeced.

Most interfaces that you purchased 5 years ago would not be suitable for your use today as you grow and change and add hardware

Swamp Turkey 07-27-2015 01:52 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Top Jimmy: I am referring to LINE not mic inputs. Avid claims line bypasses preamps, but my signal is too hot. Is there anything I can do in CP I don't know about?

YYR123: You might want to take a course in logic. My not remembering the exact year the interface came out has nothing to do with the FACT that Avid has a hot line input. I am not the only one with this issue:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ine+inputs+hot

By the way, if you have something CONSTRUCTIVE and PROFESSIONAL to say which will help me, I would appreciate it.

Eric Seaberg 07-27-2015 05:26 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Swamp Turkey (Post 2279808)
I might BE FORCED to go with this BLA mod for my Mbox 3 Pro even though Eric is the only person I have found who has actually done it (doesn't make me super confident). Why?

BLA still offers it, so someone other than me MUST be doing the mod. It made sense for me because I picked up the Pro3 on eBay from some kid who never opened it, but wanted to keep the software. No problem for me as I already had PT9 or 10. I paid $500 for the Pro3 and $890 for the full mod and MicroClock. The mod alone is $550. For me it was a no-brainer since I didn't pay full pop for the device.

You can certainly ask BLA how many of those mods they've done, if you're worried about it, but they do stand TOTALLY behind all of their work, so it shouldn't be an issue, in my mind.

Quote:

Originally Posted by YYR123 (Post 2279948)
2010 further proves the point that the jive bird was not fleeced.

Most interfaces that you purchased 5 years ago would not be suitable for your use today as you grow and change and add hardware

Another reason to have BLA do the mod. Chances are, they've made substantial improvements on THEIR upgrades over when I did it in 2013. They can bring your old Pro3 'closer' to current technology, IMHO.

As far as using external pres... my thought, especially after doing the BLA mods, was to get a pre that had SPDIF out for two more good sounding channels, giving me a total of 6 with the Pro3. What I have externally is the Audient Mico http://audient.com/products/mico-dua...e-preamplifier which is a great addition, especiailly when using the Mico with a single-point stereo mic.

Good luck with your shopping...

Swamp Turkey 07-27-2015 07:23 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Thanks for advice Eric. I briefly considered the BLA mod, but I really want to use my Neve 1073 LB.

I'm no pro engineer, so explain to me why Avid would put four line inputs in the Mbox 3 Pro without bypassing the preamps.

Also, I replied to a guy on GS who apparently records analog to channels 5 and 6. Do they not have preamps? Would that be a viable way to connect an external pre?

Appreciate your help.

Eric Seaberg 07-27-2015 07:45 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Absolutely! My option gives me 4 improved internal pres on the Pro3 and an external with great AD conversion, and send wordclock from the Pro3 to the Audient to sync it all. For me, this is a great option. You do what you need to do.... it's all good.

skystudios 03-05-2021 01:21 PM

Re: Mbox 3 vs. Mbox 3 Pro Preamps
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg (Post 2157709)
Yup, the premium mod, along with their Micro Clock. Good stuff!!

Specs not avid-digi commercial talk pleeeeze


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com