Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   VENUE Live Sound Systems (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   My tour with S3L (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=360432)

jacko 11-07-2014 04:20 AM

My tour with S3L
 
Tomorrow I start my first tour with Avid S3L. I got a demo from local distributor for 5 shows. I'm very excited. It's a shame Avid didn't upgrade the demo yet to 4.5, but I am grateful regardless. I hope this will be a good opportunity to borrow a demo again in future when 4.5 version is finally available. I will report how I am getting along with the desk in the next days. Stay tuned!

jacko 11-09-2014 11:43 PM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
First two shows went smoothly. Even with 4.1 software it is an amazingly comfortable desk to work with. It's still the same Venue software we know but it actually feels as if the software was tailored specifically for this little desk. I recorded the shows to my Macbook Air. Yesterday I fine tuned my song-by-song snapshots using virtual soundcheck.

Davoetta 11-10-2014 07:51 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Great to hear that u are enjoying the work with the S3L!
Hope to read more (positive) notes from you!
Maybe a couple of pictures also?!

Kristo Kotkas 11-10-2014 07:59 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
You should def get it to 4.5, user layer - that's where it is! :D

jacko 11-17-2014 07:59 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Here is some more:

I went on a short tour with S3L 4.1. The band I tour with, Acid Drinkers, is one of the most recognised heavy metal bands in Poland. The autumn-winter shows are in rather smaller venus ranging from 150 to 2000 people capacity. In smaller places where there is no room for a monitoring desk on stage, I do monitor mixes from the FOH console. Being familiar with other Venue mixers I immediately knew the basics and the first show went as smooth as I’d do it on a D-Show. After reading the manual I expected to be fairly quick but in reality it was even better than I thought. Its small form factor makes me faster than I’d be on a larger console. Top right hand side row of 8 encoders can operate VCAs, Matrixes, Groups and most importantly - Inserts. To my surprise I got used to it during the first show very quickly. I arranged my first layer of 16 faders to have the most important things that I need during the show, specifically guitars, vocals and FX returns. That allowed me to adjust all the levels and effects parameters as quickly as possible, without actually touching the trackball or even looking at the screen. I also stored some plugin settings in song-by-song snapshots, but that’s we all know and love about Venue software, so nothing unique to S3L here. The quality of buttons, knobs and faders is very good. AVB and Venue Link are fantastic. I used it with “unsupported” Macbook Air 11" 2GHz i7 2012. I recorded all shows, soundchecks, rehearsals and I used them to fine tune my mixes before shows. I’m hoping to try 4.5 soon, but that’s up to Avid - they have to upgrade the demo unit I tested.

Kristo Kotkas 11-17-2014 08:49 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by milaszewski (Post 2204130)
... I’m hoping to try 4.5 soon, but that’s up to Avid - they have to upgrade the demo unit I tested.


Actually it's up to local dealer who owns the demo units to update them, not Avid ;)

jacko 11-17-2014 10:15 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas (Post 2204148)
Actually it's up to local dealer who owns the demo units to update them, not Avid ;)


They've waited for an updated E3 engine for some time now. Still, even with 4.1 I enjoyed it a lot.

Kristo Kotkas 11-17-2014 10:35 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by milaszewski (Post 2204166)
They've waited for an updated E3 engine for some time now. Still, even with 4.1 I enjoyed it a lot.

Cool that you did! As we speak I'm looking at the Tarja band's setup (Ex Nightwish), they tour with S3L-X at both, FOH and Monitors, sharing stage boxes... We start to see these little devils popping up everywhere!

Btw about the update, they should only get one memory module + software update, not completely updated engine.

Mike496 11-17-2014 07:16 PM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
I've been on tour with mine for about a month. There have been a few issues but Avid has really helped me get through them. I really like this system! It's getting a lot of looks and love from the house guys too.

jacko 11-17-2014 10:43 PM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas (Post 2204174)
Btw about the update, they should only get one memory module + software update, not completely updated engine.

Apparently there is an early revision of E3 which cannot be user upgraded. Avid replaces E3 free of charge in those cases.

jacko 11-25-2014 05:55 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
I borrowed a different S3L, this time upgraded to 4.5. I love the new features. There is one strange thing about the unit I have though... green LEDs above scribble strips are much darker, barely lit. All other colors are bright lit (blue, red, purple). Also, there is no yellow - channels that are yellow on the screen have red LEDs on S3. Can anyone check their units?

iirth 11-25-2014 07:45 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Sounds like there's an issue with the green LED's on that S3.
I use yellow to indicate drum channels, they light as bright as the others.

Davoetta 11-25-2014 07:55 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Same here - no problems with the LEDs

jacko 11-25-2014 12:56 PM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by iirth (Post 2206632)
Sounds like there's an issue with the green LED's on that S3.
I use yellow to indicate drum channels, they light as bright as the others.

That's right! Yellow is combination of red and green, that explains it.

jacko 11-25-2014 02:30 PM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by iirth (Post 2206632)
Sounds like there's an issue with the green LED's on that S3.
I use yellow to indicate drum channels, they light as bright as the others.

I found it!
I fixed it by resetting LED settings in S3 utility mode described here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ontrol-surface
It turned out that green LEDs were turned down to its lowest setting for some reason.

Valentyn 11-26-2014 02:45 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Probably its owner hates green...

iirth 11-26-2014 08:17 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by milaszewski (Post 2206740)
...I fixed it by resetting LED settings in S3 utility mode described here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ontrol-surface

Very cool, thanks for reporting back. That link may be useful in the future.

iirth 11-26-2014 08:25 AM

Re: My tour with S3L
 
A slight aside:
Is anyone else bothered by the refresh rate of the yellow segments in the channel meters? Every time my eyes scan across the console, I can see the yellow segments flicker red. Others have noticed this too, while looking over my unit.
Is there a PWM setting for the LED's that can be changed, perhaps similar to the process described in the link above?
The best fix I've found so far is to keep things out of the yellow. ;-)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com