Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=133)
-   -   Need Pro Audio Consult on Vocal Issue (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=423699)

HRose 03-01-2023 11:10 AM

Need Pro Audio Consult on Vocal Issue

I am hearing some rough edges on the vocals for my new album. Can't figure out the source. Happy to pay for an experienced pro audio engineer to listen and help out. Style is Trop Rock. Think "It's Five O'clock Somewhere," "Some Beach," or "Two Pina Coladas." Music tracks sound fine to me, but there is some edge or distortion on the vocal. Varies by song. Vocal is not clipping. Recorded at -10 db or more. But, I am a self taught home studio "engineer." Not the best, I know, but I've done OK in the past. Have learned a lot from doing over the years.

Songs are mixed in Pro Tools Studio. Some vocals recorded at professional Las Vegas studio. Some recorded in my home studio. Music produced in Reason 12 (MIDI plus acoustic guitar). Vocals recorded in Pro Tools. Plugins are from AVID, iZotope & Waves. Mastered in WaveLab 9.5. Running iOS Ventura 13.1 on iMac. Scarlet 18i20. Neumann TLM103 with portable vocal booth.

This is a serious effort. I have had millions of video views in the past few years on social media. I need to release a solid quality album for streaming and download sales.

I could really use an assist or a referral to someone who can help me straighten this out.

Much Thanks!
HRose

albee1952 03-01-2023 12:10 PM

Re: Need Pro Audio Consult on Vocal Issue

Hmm, some basic troubleshooting is in order:
#1-disable all plugins(hold SHIFT while opening a session) and listen(maybe its a plugin causing the problem)
#2-describe the entire vocal chain(mic>preamp>interface...anything else in the chain?). I see what you have, but what about the Las Vegas studio?
#3-how loud is the singer(could it be the voice is over-driving the mic)?