Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Protools 8 hardware compatability questions (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=269344)

JoshuaD 03-14-2010 12:21 PM

Protools 8 hardware compatability questions
 
I'm trying to get my system working properly with protools. Although it seems I have enough raw power, my motherboard and processer seem to be mildly incompatable with protools 8, which is causing pro-tools to hang up with only a few tracks running. I can't even run X-Pand without any other plug-ins or tracks running.

So I'm going to upgrade. I have some questions:

  • Does protools have a preference between AMD and Intel?
  • I understand that pairing the processor with the right motherboard is key, is there a list anywhere of good pairs of supported motherboards/processors? I've come across this, but I'm having just a little trouble decoding it.
  • My gut tells me that more processor cores = better. Should I be going for a quad-core processor or is this not necessary? How many cores would you suggest?
  • Is 64 bit fully supported?
  • If 64 bit is supported, is 64 bit preferable?
  • Is windows 7 supported? Last time I tried installing pro-tools on windows 7 (a week ago) it killed the windows install beyond the point of recovery.


I have a sandra system profile available if anyone wants it. I didn't want to make the first post too long. Any help is hugely appreciated. I want to go get something today or tomorrow.


I'm pretty much just looking for someone to say "Processor X and Motherboard Y will definitely have no compatibility issues." I'd like for them to be compatible with with memory I have now (2x 1GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-6400U DDR2-800), but I'm not terribly concerned with that. At this point I just really want to get pro-tools working properly and without hang-ups or glitches. I just spent $1500 on a bunch of equipment and I can't really use it. :(

JoshuaD 03-14-2010 12:59 PM

Re: Protools 8 hardware compatability questions
 
I'm looking the Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 as my processor. Does anyone have any experience with it? Does anyone have a motherboard suggestion?

TOM@METRO 03-14-2010 02:42 PM

Re: Protools 8 hardware compatability questions
 
This is the thread to read for core2 Quad systems.
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=200560

JoshuaD 03-14-2010 04:05 PM

Re: Protools 8 hardware compatability questions
 
Thanks Tom. This is what I'm looking at getting:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 Yorkfield 2.5GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo

Do you know why the "Yorkfield" processors are $40 less expensive than their non-yorkfield counterparts?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com