Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   G3 500 vs. G4 500 (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=46594)

DaWhole9 06-24-2002 03:42 PM

G3 500 vs. G4 500
 
Hey Guys!
I was contemplating my PB purchase and was hating to grab a G4/800 now instead of waiting for OSX versions of LE and by then newer and faster CPU's will be out. Then I noticed that there are a few G4 upgrades for my G3/500 pismo. Now I am wondering how much more power would I have with a G4 running at 500 mhz versus my G3 at 500 mhz...Thanks....

Slim Shady 06-24-2002 03:47 PM

Re: G3 500 vs. G4 500
 
Quote:

Now I am wondering how much more power would I have with a G4 running at 500 mhz versus my G3 at 500 mhz
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Not much, and with regards to PTLE: none.

Basically, your only upgrade there is the altivec processor, which PTLE doesn't take advantage of. You'll really only see a difference (and a minor one at that) in applications that support the altivec processor.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com