Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Pro tools 6 renaming files. (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=30132)

JimC 04-12-2003 10:16 PM

Pro tools 6 renaming files.
 
Why is it when I drag or import a file into pro tools 6 it renames the files by adding numbers to it. And getting rid of most of my description.

In OS 10 you can have filenames as long as 256 characters. Why is digi limiting the file names.
[img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]

stormtrooperpez 04-13-2003 08:44 AM

Re: Pro tools 6 renaming files.
 
My guess is they're doing it to maintain backwards compatibility with PT5 in OS9. Kind of a drag in one way, but it is nice to be able to work on any session on both platforms without having to save unique copies for different OS's...

JimC 04-13-2003 10:28 AM

Re: Pro tools 6 renaming files.
 
Then why don't they truncate the file just like they do when you switch from OS 10 to OS 9.
[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com