Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219] (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=420833)

strawb 09-09-2022 07:06 AM

Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6
 
push this PT update already
we're stranded out in the water here with shoddy midi editing capabilities.
(in a professional recording studio, with the artist standing behind me)
not a great look.

come on already avid fix the midi bug..

massivekerry 09-09-2022 09:30 AM

Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by strawb (Post 2646589)
push this PT update already
we're stranded out in the water here with shoddy midi editing capabilities.
(in a professional recording studio, with the artist standing behind me)
not a great look.

come on already avid fix the midi bug..

Agreed, but the "Change the affected Track to Samples instead of Ticks" hack DOES seem to work (for me, a few times this week), so try that in the interim.

DataStar 09-11-2022 03:37 PM

Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by massivekerry (Post 2646595)
Agreed, but the "Change the affected Track to Samples instead of Ticks" hack DOES seem to work (for me, a few times this week), so try that in the interim.

Great! This solve the problem momentarily, thanks for the tip. 2022.7 is much more faster than 2022.5 although it has the midi bug problem

andresix 09-13-2022 05:59 AM

Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6
 
Changing the MIDI track to samples solved it for me as well, the only solution so far save for going back to .5.

strawb 09-13-2022 06:45 AM

Re: MIDI Quantize/Selection bug 2022.6
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by massivekerry (Post 2646595)
Agreed, but the "Change the affected Track to Samples instead of Ticks" hack DOES seem to work (for me, a few times this week), so try that in the interim.

nice one! thanks

stargazer 09-18-2022 11:08 AM

Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]
 
Got an answer from Avid Customer Care:

”I have associated your case with the following bug already (PT-290381). As the root cause has been identified and the resolution has been provided, this case will now be closed. Please bear with us until the fix gets released within the future releases of Pro Tools.”

I hope this is useful information (might be yesterdays news) - I searched this thread for (PT-290381) without finding anything.

jcoutu1 09-25-2022 01:54 PM

Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]
 
This is absolutely bananas that this is a problem. Maybe it's time to finally become a Logic power user and leave PT in the dust...

Shatzer 09-28-2022 12:07 PM

Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]
 
According to the release notes on 2022.9 the midi issue is fixed. Will be downloading soon.

jcoutu1 09-28-2022 12:12 PM

Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Shatzer (Post 2648271)
According to the release notes on 2022.9 the midi issue is fixed. Will be downloading soon.

I just saw. Killer.

FunkzzaJ 09-28-2022 12:19 PM

Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]
 
This been fixed now in 2022.9?
/T

jeffro 09-28-2022 12:20 PM

Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Shatzer (Post 2648271)
According to the release notes on 2022.9 the midi issue is fixed. Will be downloading soon.

Correct, there were a few similar issues logged that were fixed in 2022.9...
MIDI notes can be selected and edited where it was previously intermittently failing, including in Slip mode, after record, and after quantization (PT-289793, PT-289553, PT-289219)
avid.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/readme/Pro-Tools-2022-9-Release-Notes

FunkzzaJ 09-28-2022 12:23 PM

Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jeffro (Post 2648278)
Correct, there were a few similar issues logged that were fixed in 2022.9...
MIDI notes can be selected and edited where it was previously intermittently failing, including in Slip mode, after record, and after quantization (PT-289793, PT-289553, PT-289219)
avid.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/readme/Pro-Tools-2022-9-Release-Notes

Great-o !

Have stayed on 2021.10 to avoid this. Will upgrade now.

Have a great ........ (fill in the blanks)

Gav G 10-18-2022 05:11 AM

Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]
 
Hi There,

I've just recently upgraded to 2022.9 on Big Sur and straight away experienced the inability to select or edit midi notes, from either the Midi editor or note view on the Midi track. Switching between Ticks and Samples seems to make it operational.

Since it first happened it seems to be behaving, but this is jaw dropping that an update can go out with such a fundamental and glaring problem. Avid is really stitching up professional people with stuff like this.

take77 10-18-2022 08:17 AM

Re: Can't select MIDI Notes after Quantizing them in 2022.6 [PT-289219]
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gav G (Post 2650646)
Hi There,

I've just recently upgraded to 2022.9 on Big Sur and straight away experienced the inability to select or edit midi notes, from either the Midi editor or note view on the Midi track. Switching between Ticks and Samples seems to make it operational.

Since it first happened it seems to be behaving, but this is jaw dropping that an update can go out with such a fundamental and glaring problem. Avid is really stitching up professional people with stuff like this.

Yes, switching to sample mode is the recommended & effective workaround.
Also, (not sure if this has anything to do with it) but try trashing prefs to re-initialize the MIDI engine & see if this alleviates the problem of it happening straight away in a session.

When I temporarily went back to 2022.7 and then back to 2022.9 I kept my .7 prefs and it happened as soon as I started a new .9 session.
Before I went back to .7 the problem didn't happen so readily in .9.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com