Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 12 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=142)
-   -   Crackling in Pro Tools 12 (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=390940)

Sergey_111 05-05-2017 03:08 AM

Crackling in Pro Tools 12
 
Hello! While working with Pro Tools 12, some kind of crackling occurs. Why this can be and what needs to be configured in the program? Did someone happen this? I use Windows 10 Pro and a sound card focusrite scarlett 18i20 (1st generation).

Sergey_111 05-05-2017 04:52 AM

Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12
 
Nobody faced with this? Noise or clicks in the program?

Southsidemusic 05-05-2017 05:21 AM

Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12
 
We use Mac only here but what is your computer specs?

Please post a free Sandra report with hard drives and peripherals plugged in and we can see about your system.

Also what buffer size do you have set?

Sergey_111 05-05-2017 05:48 AM

Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12
 
Windows 10 pro, 8 GB of RAM, intel core i5-3470 cpu @ 3.20 GHz

audioman1973 05-05-2017 05:48 AM

Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12
 
First thing to try is set your playback buffer higher in Settings >Playback Engine. You could also try increasing Disk Cache. If those two things don't help there may be other issues and if that's the case trashing prefs and posting the Sandra Report may help pinpoint the problem as these other fine folks have suggested.

jeam25 05-05-2017 07:23 AM

Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12
 
Hi Sergey ! There are a few things that can cause this .

What hard drives and how are you recording ? ( Is important what chris ask you , more detalied system report would be helpfull )

Make shure to have all your drivers upated specially the chipset drivers .

And last make shure to have all the windows optimizations done .

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ndows-10-Guide

Sergey_111 05-05-2017 10:21 AM

Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12
 
Thank you! I will try to do all this. I just used FL Studio earlier and did not notice any performance problems.

lesbrunn 05-06-2017 02:17 AM

Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sergey_111 (Post 2428963)
Hello! While working with Pro Tools 12, some kind of cracking occurs. Why this can be and what needs to be configured in the program? Did someone happen this? I use Windows 10 Pro and a sound card focusrite scarlett 18i20 (1st generation).

As usual, the advice here is top-notch. Assuming you've checked all of the above, here's something else. Sometimes The whole audio suddenly sounds garbled and distorted, and just changing the buffer setting to something else (either lower or higher) in the playback engine resolves this. I usually work at 512, and moving to 256 and back again always solves it. It's a strange bug that I never noticed before v12, but that may be because I jumped from v8 to 12.

Sergey_111 05-06-2017 02:58 AM

Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12
 
Lesbrunn, thanks! I am very grateful for the advice!

lesbrunn 05-06-2017 03:12 AM

Re: Cracking in Prp Tools 12
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sergey_111 (Post 2429129)
Lesbrunn, thanks! I am very grateful for the advice!

You're welcome, bro. Hope you find a solution soon.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com