Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Altiverb HTDM (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=31604)

Markk 07-17-2003 07:20 AM

Altiverb HTDM
 
How is the latency issue with the HTDM plug? Is it better? This verb looks teriffic, and although I am happy with Reverb One I am looking for something different.

Jamshied 07-17-2003 08:31 AM

Re: Altiverb HTDM
 
Mark,

You can download an HDTM demo (OS 9) at the AudioEase site - it beeps annoyingly, but will give you a feel for the plug. If you download the demo, make sure you download enough impulse responses to hear what it can do (it doesn't have 'patches' like a regular digital reverb - each setup requires a fairly large impulse response file).

In low-latency mode, it's perfectly usable as a reverb - I think around 20-25 ms delay before the onset of reverb. This is not really perceptable on a typical aux return with the mix at 100% wet; if, however, you let dry signal through the plug, you will hear delay or flamming.

It's a real CPU hog - one compelling reason to get a G5 would be to run several of these, and a few Arturia Moog Modulars. On a G4 933, I can get 1-3 instances, depending on the length and complexity of the program.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com