Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Waves DTS Neural Surround Plugin (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=381124)

peter5992 05-20-2016 01:07 PM

Waves DTS Neural Surround Plugin

Hey guys:

Have you seen this seen this:

http://www.waves.com/bundles/dts-neu...und-collection

Anyone tried it yet? How does it stack up to other surround encoders, e.g. the Neyrinck (other than that it 50% less expensive)? Or are they just different industry standards (see below), and depending on the delivery format, you may need either one or the other?

Sorry if this sounds ignorant, I'm fairly new to surround (other than as a consumer that is).

https://www.audioholics.com/audio-te...of-the-formats

smurfyou 05-20-2016 09:35 PM

Re: Waves DTS Neural Surround Plugin

This one isn't an encoder, it's an upmixer for creating multichannel content from mono or stereo sources.

Cheesehead 05-21-2016 11:33 AM

It is an encoder, one of the plugins will encode multichannel to LtRt.

I tried it up against the Neyrinck, 5.1 to LtRt and my feeling was that some of the punch and brightness was lost after the stereo encoding on the DTS.

Maybe because of the different limiters?

Anyhow I'm sticking with the Neyrinck, your mileage may vary.

I thought the upmixers did a good job, but are very center heavy.
Probably great for upmixing full program, but not so great for music & FX that have to sit behind dialogue.

I wish they would make a DTS Headphone plugin and the DTS loudness tools as plugs.

tom_lowe 05-21-2016 12:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cheesehead (Post 2358660)
It is an encoder, one of the plugins will encode multichannel to LtRt.

I tried it up against the Neyrinck, 5.1 to LtRt and my feeling was that some of the punch and brightness was lost after the stereo encoding on the DTS.

Maybe because of the different limiters?