Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   Slot prefs for new MacPro (HD Native) (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=416403)

Eric Seaberg 07-28-2021 10:51 AM

Slot prefs for new MacPro (HD Native)
 
I've seen the Avid recommendations for slot preferences in the new MacPro for HD Native and HDX cards. Our issue is we have three systems with the HD Native and Avid recommends Slot 2, right next to the GPU. The GPU in our new Pros is two slots wide, so the first available slot is 3.

Has anyone done this, or should we move the Native card to slot 5, which is shown for HDX1 (as is slot 2)?

Our HDX2 system will go into slots 5 & 6, with BlackMagic Video in slot 7.


Thanks for the insight!

albee1952 07-31-2021 04:47 PM

Re: Slot prefs for new MacPro (HD Native)
 
I was hoping someone would have given an experienced answer by now, but since nobody has yet, I'll offer an idea to consider: Try the HDN card in the 3rd slot and test. If all is well, great. If its not, could you move the graphics card to slots 3/4 so the HDN card can go into slot 2 as recommended?

Another option if slot 3 just won't work: move the HDN card to a thunderbolt chassis(not the cheapest option, but maybe one that would work):o

Eric Seaberg 08-01-2021 10:29 AM

Re: Slot prefs for new MacPro (HD Native)
 
Yeah, we discovered the GPU works in slot 3, so if HD Native needs to go in slot 2 we can move the GPU, otherwise we'll just try other options.

Thanks for the reply!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com