Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Mbox Pro Driver won't install on Sierra (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=396403)

Dj-Ike 08-07-2017 09:42 PM

Mbox Pro Driver won't install on Sierra
 
My Mbox 2 stopped working with Sierra(skipped El Capitan), so I decided to get the Pro 3. Now, that's not working as well. Are we just supposed to lay down, and not say anything? If you're working on a fix, you should let us know. If there's no way to fix it, you should also let us know. If we are not a priority, or you're dropping support, then say so. Then we can make an informed decision as to what we should do next.
It would be really nice to hear from someone.

Dj-Ike 08-24-2017 08:05 PM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Thanks for the long 'hold'. The silence is deafening! But, I believe that the silence says a lot too! Finally, you had an Mbox that got some pretty good reviews(been Mboxin' since Focusrite), and you just kick it to the curb? Well, that's not any way to treat those of us who want to believe in your product. A lot of people had problems with Digidesign becoming Avid. I was not one of them. I envisioned a bright future, but I guess I was one of the gullible little customers. Well, I have to say, I wanted to stay 'all' Avid, but now I have no choice but to move on:(
Wish it wasn't this way. All it took, was just a little hint that you're hearing us, and you were concerned about your lower level customer base as well. We may not have a billion dollar budget, but we spent good money, just to see our investment come to a screeching halt(this includes some of the HD people as well):confused:

Top Jimmy 08-25-2017 11:28 AM

Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
I don't have a problem with my mbox3 on Sierra so I don't exactly know how to help you. Have you tried manually removing everything before reinstalling the latest driver?
This is for the mbox2, but maybe it will help.
https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...g-with-my-mac/


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Dj-Ike 08-26-2017 07:43 AM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Hey Jimmy, Thanks for the reply. What I did was uninstall the Mbox drivers, and software. Now when I tried to re install the driver, it says installation failed. 1.3.5 is not working on Sierra 10.12.6. It works without problem until this latest update. I never usually sweat the updates, because usually Avid comes up with something compatible. But, it seems that this time, NO. I was reading on the PT Expert page where it was also wondering if Avid has quietly discontinued the MBox3 series. Well, that's all I want to know, so I can stop waiting. I am fortunate to have another slightly slower MacBook Pro 17 that's still on 10.12.5. I will use that for MBox projects. I was just wondering(out loud) for those who may be less fortunate and only have one machine. I got nervous because of the silence. Am I the only one??

Darryl Ramm 08-26-2017 12:52 PM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dj-Ike (Post 2446771)
Hey Jimmy, Thanks for the reply. What I did was uninstall the Mbox drivers, and software. Now when I tried to re install the driver, it says installation failed. 1.3.5 is not working on Sierra 10.12.6. It works without problem until this latest update. I never usually sweat the updates, because usually Avid comes up with something compatible. But, it seems that this time, NO. I was reading on the PT Expert page where it was also wondering if Avid has quietly discontinued the MBox3 series. Well, that's all I want to know, so I can stop waiting. I am fortunate to have another slightly slower MacBook Pro 17 that's still on 10.12.5. I will use that for MBox projects. I was just wondering(out loud) for those who may be less fortunate and only have one machine. I got nervous because of the silence. Am I the only one??

Quietly? The Mbox 3 family has been discontinued.

Final sale End of support
Mbox (third generation) 8/30/2014 8/30/2019
Mbox Mini (third generation) 4/22/2013 4/22/2018
Mbox Pro (third generation) 3/1/2015 3/1/2020

From http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-support-dates

The real question is what limited support will be offered until the final end of support.

You can't just casually upgrade an OS without having a fail back plan, in this case a bootable clone on an external drive made with Carbon Copy Cloner would have you running again as fast as you can say "reboot".

Dj-Ike 08-27-2017 04:11 AM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm (Post 2446798)
Quietly? The Mbox 3 family has been discontinued.

Final sale End of support
Mbox (third generation) 8/30/2014 8/30/2019
Mbox Mini (third generation) 4/22/2013 4/22/2018
Mbox Pro (third generation) 3/1/2015 3/1/2020

From http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-support-dates

The real question is what limited support will be offered until the final end of support.

You can't just casually upgrade an OS without having a fail back plan, in this case a bootable clone on an external drive made with Carbon Copy Cloner would have you running again as fast as you can say "reboot".

Thanks Darryl, I didn't see that, really didn't know about 'end of support'.
I do have a back-up Mac, + a startup disk that I made with 'Get Backup'
Like I said, just wondering if I 'hit the wall' or not. This will be my first time in almost 20 years that I've got nowhere to go. Never thought there would be a time when I wouldn't be able to take advantage of the Apple security patches. Oh well, I guess as they say "everything must come to an end someday". But I've got older 'not as good' audio interfaces, that still work.... That's my head scratcher:confused:

Dj-Ike 09-03-2017 02:01 AM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Well, back again for another crack at getting support. End of Support for the Mbox Pro 3 is 2020..... That's 3 years from now!! What's happening during those 3+ years? I thought that it should remain 'active' until EOS?? I don't need support to tell me that 'It ain't working'. I need a fix! Come on Avid, 2020 is the date you stated. Live up to that.....

Dj-Ike 09-28-2017 08:58 PM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Oh well, I finally gave up and unplugged my Mbox3 Pro today. I was noticing how well built, and solid it is. Seems like it was built to last forever. I guess I'm gonna miss it.
Funny thing is that I took my new temporary interface out of the box, Pro Tools12 recognized it right away, no drivers to install, and I didn't even have to plug it into the wall. It's bus-powered..... Since I'll just be using it mainly for playback, it may not be as 'temporary' as I thought. It was also 1/3 of the price of my used Mbox3. Plug-n-play..... Thank you *****(new company). Now all I have to do is get used to seeing a non Avid name on my substation. Been using Digi products since the 90's. Wonder what's next to go:confused:

Dj-Ike 10-21-2017 04:15 AM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Thomaseucat (Post 2453423)
Did youdo something special?? mine is not working....

Mine either. It's back in the box. I do miss some of the 'Pro' features. I guess I have a small legacy collection. I was digging around and came across an MBox Micro:eek:

Dj-Ike 10-21-2017 04:17 AM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
I think if we can figure out how to reinstall the driver, it may work.

Dj-Ike 11-04-2017 05:24 AM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dj-Ike (Post 2455062)
I think if we can figure out how to reinstall the driver, it may work.

I agree! Anybody know how to do that?

Top Jimmy 12-12-2017 04:44 PM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dj-Ike (Post 2455062)
I think if we can figure out how to reinstall the driver, it may work.



Quote:

Originally Posted by Dj-Ike (Post 2457723)
I agree! Anybody know how to do that?


Has anyone run the uninstaller? Has anyone googled about manually uninstalling?

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nents-Mac-OS-X



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Dj-Ike 01-12-2018 04:36 AM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Yeah, I did both. That's what got me into trouble. Now, I can't re-install the driver at all. I didn't uninstall it on my Mac Pro since I wasn't using the Mbox Pro on it, and it still shows up in the control panel. But, on my MacBook Pro, no luck.
Don't know why I even bother, since I do have a working interface from another company, but I really liked the Mbox Pro, and wish it didn't throw itself away:confused:

Dj-Ike 01-15-2018 02:04 AM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi Top Jimmy, this is what I keep getting.
Installation Failed

Top Jimmy 01-15-2018 07:59 AM

Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dj-Ike (Post 2469119)
Hi Top Jimmy, this is what I keep getting.

Installation Failed


If the installer is failing, have you tried redownloading the driver?

Other than all this, the only other thing I can imagine that would fix your setup is to do a completely fresh format and installation of High Sierra. I don't know if you performed a fresh install from the start, but it has always been the recommended method rather than installing an OS upgrade on top of a previous OS.

Maybe you can start this on an extra drive or partition to see how it works out before reformatting your boot partition.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

icamusic 09-13-2021 02:57 PM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Hello Dj-Ike I understood and share your discomfort. Also my M-box 3d generation is useless from the moment I upgrade in Mojave. I found a page where was linked some download for driver update but once I clicked nothing happens. The only thing possible now for me is downgrade the OS of my mac.
But please Avid company could you clarify if there are such update for Mbox 3 in relation with recents mac OS like Mojave or Catalina or big suur? It' a shame to not be able to use anymore this product. At this point I even give up to purchase pro tools 10.5 which I was intentioned to do and maybe pass to logic

Top Jimmy 09-13-2021 08:42 PM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by icamusic (Post 2613523)
Hello Dj-Ike I understood and share your discomfort. Also my M-box 3d generation is useless from the moment I upgrade in Mojave. I found a page where was linked some download for driver update but once I clicked nothing happens. The only thing possible now for me is downgrade the OS of my mac.
But please Avid company could you clarify if there are such update for Mbox 3 in relation with recents mac OS like Mojave or Catalina or big suur? It' a shame to not be able to use anymore this product. At this point I even give up to purchase pro tools 10.5 which I was intentioned to do and maybe pass to logic


What seems to be the problem? Until I moved it to a Windows 10 machine, I had an Mbox3 working on Mojave just fine.

icamusic 09-14-2021 04:33 AM

Re: Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Top Jimmy (Post 2613562)
What seems to be the problem? Until I moved it to a Windows 10 machine, I had an Mbox3 working on Mojave just fine.

hello thank you for the quick replay! the problem is when I connect the M-box usb it appears "not connected". At first I try to reinstall the drivers from the original avid audio driver disc . "the installation results failed, he installer can't find the software".
I was thinking to find new update drivers in avid website, but it seems there aren't.
what can I do? If you have some suggestion welcome!
Thank you!

Dj-Ike 09-14-2021 05:54 AM

Re: Mbox Pro Driver won't install on Sierra
 
I just gave up and bought an S3, and a different interface for my MBP. I’m now running Big Sur on my MBP 16 inch, and went back to Mojave on my MacPro 2013. That’s where I use the S3. If Avid finds a way to ‘brick’ the S3, I’ll cry like a baby, then throw tantrums like a toddler. I shelved all of my MBoxes, and my 003. All of which were perfectly usable until Avid decided not to support them any longer :confused I don’t understand why we paid good money for them, and they became useless :confused. I still use ProTools, and really love using it, but the money spent on subscriptions, and dead peripherals makes me wonder 💭
The weird thing is, I bought a fairly cheap interface, and it worked right out of the box! No drivers to install, bus powered, and has the same amount of inputs as my mBox Pro. Of course the preamps are different, but as for now, I just use it for playback.

Top Jimmy 09-14-2021 08:28 AM

Mbox Pro Driver won't install on Sierra
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by icamusic (Post 2613584)
hello thank you for the quick replay! the problem is when I connect the M-box usb it appears "not connected". At first I try to reinstall the drivers from the original avid audio driver disc . "the installation results failed, he installer can't find the software".
I was thinking to find new update drivers in avid website, but it seems there aren't.
what can I do? If you have some suggestion welcome!
Thank you!


https://www.avid.com/learn-and-support/pro-tools-mbox

Chrome sometimes doesn’t parse the download links properly. Try right mouse click and save as, or copy the link and paste it in the url bar.

Dj-Ike 09-14-2021 04:18 PM

Re: Mbox Pro Driver won't install on Sierra
 
I really believe that Top Jimmy has the correct solution in his signature.
Hackintosh, Mbox3(windows).
Other than that, I think we are out of luck on Mac.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com