Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 10 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=418242)

halipino123 12-16-2021 10:49 AM

DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
Hi guys, don't mean to kick a dead horse (so to speak) but a few things have changed since I last asked about keeping my DIGI 002 Control Surface in play and not to the graveyard.


I have decided to finally upgrade my win 7/PT 10 legacy system to a "new" PC that will have the PT perpetual license and an RME Fireface UCX II USB Interface along with a new AVID S1 EUCON Desktop Control Surface.


The RME Fireface has an optical input so my question is: (as dumb as it maybe, cuz I don't know lol) can I slave my good ol' DIGI 002 into the RME using optical and keep it as a way to use all the extra inputs/outputs on the back of the unit or would the 002 controller be in conflict with the newer AVID S1?



My guess is there could be legacy driver conflicts with the 002???
Is this an utter waster of time and effort?

If anything I just keep the 002 and my old win 7 system as "Studio B" backup system.

Thank you
:-)

JFreak 12-16-2021 11:27 AM

Re: DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
Someone more familiar to this than myself could confirm, but I do not think EUCON works together with any other protocol.

halipino123 12-16-2021 11:32 AM

Re: DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JFreak (Post 2622799)
Someone more familiar to this than myself could confirm, but I do not think EUCON works together with any other protocol.




My guess is that the 002 won't get to play with the newer stuff but I just had a small hope that I could lightpipe/optical the signal(s) into the RME interface and make use of all the other inputs if i ever needed them.

JFreak 12-16-2021 11:36 AM

Re: DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
There is no standalone mode for 002, you need to operate it as interface.

Darryl Ramm 12-16-2021 12:07 PM

Re: DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JFreak (Post 2622803)
There is no standalone mode for 002, you need to operate it as interface.

I am working on my Finish humor recognition… was this sarcasm? 🙂

Actually the 002 has a stand alone mode. It is the 003 that does not, an easy thing to flip remembering.

There is this *amazing* thing called documentation, the 002 manual has a whole very well written chapter on stand alone operation ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

JFreak 12-16-2021 12:15 PM

Re: DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
Oh, my bad if 002 console has. I stand corrected. I had 002 rack once and it did not have, thus when I refer to 002 I (obviously errorneusly) talk about 002R

halipino123 12-16-2021 12:27 PM

Re: DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JFreak (Post 2622810)
Oh, my bad if 002 console has. I stand corrected. I had 002 rack once and it did not have, thus when I refer to 002 I (obviously errorneusly) talk about 002R


So if I am reading this correctly:

Yes, the 002 has a stand alone mode, so if I flip it into stand alone mode and optical/light-pipe it to my new RME interface there should be a way to keep this in play?

That would be pretty stinking cool if I could. :-)

JFreak 12-16-2021 12:31 PM

Re: DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
User Guide Chapter 7 says so, take a look. But AFAIK it is only for 002 console, not 002 rack. Not sure why. But at that time I switched my 002 rack to MIX gear which had standalone mode.

Darryl Ramm 12-16-2021 12:40 PM

Re: DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by halipino123 (Post 2622812)
That would be pretty stinking cool if I could. :-)


halipino123 12-16-2021 12:54 PM

Re: DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer AVID S1?
 
Poor Luke, even he gets the RTFM biz... hahhaa


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com