Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 10 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417421)

halipino123 10-18-2021 09:35 AM

Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
1 Attachment(s)
This is probably a dumb question but trying to utilize the gear that I have. Would the sound quality improve at all if I put my mic into a small Mackie mixer before going into the DIGI002 inputs?


Thank you.

JFreak 10-18-2021 09:47 AM

Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by halipino123 (Post 2616277)
This is probably a dumb question but trying to utilize the gear that I have. Would the sound quality improve at all if I put my mic into a small Mackie mixer before going into the DIGI002 inputs?


Thank you.

No. 002 preamps are better than Mackie preamps, but even so, they are nothing to brag about. If you want to improve your sound quality, buy something that costs more than a thousand for two channels. Then opinions do vary.

halipino123 10-18-2021 09:56 AM

Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
Really, Mackie are less than the 002? Would have never known, thank you for your knowledge.

JFreak 10-18-2021 09:59 AM

Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by halipino123 (Post 2616282)
Really, Mackie are less than the 002? Would have never known, thank you for your knowledge.

Unless you have a really big Mackie console that is. Just assuming it is the normal small Mackie you are talking about.

002 preamps are actually decent. They are "clean" so if you want preamp that colors the sound you need to get one (or pair) of those.

halipino123 10-18-2021 10:30 AM

Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
Do you feel SPDIF inputs are good enough on 002, I'm using a Kemper at this point and trying to figure out of my guitar tracks would improve with a different IO.

JFreak 10-18-2021 10:33 AM

Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
Digital is digital, it is always "perfect" so long as you get clocking problems due to too long or too low quality cables.

halipino123 10-18-2021 10:57 AM

Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
Thank you JFreak, greatly appreciated!
:-)

albee1952 10-18-2021 11:23 AM

Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
Some more to confuse you:p
1-Since you have this stuff already, just try the Mackie and decide for yourself if its better, worse or the same. Just make sure you connect the Mackie output(s) to LINE inputs(5-8) on the 002(not the XLR inputs) and hit the switch for +4.
2-re the Kemper, it gets a bit deeper(but yes, digital is digital, BUT, is it "perfect"). The reason I address this is because I had a client with a Kemper do some recordings last year. We did not use a digital connection(my setup at the time just made that a hassle) and I patched the Kemper outputs into a pair of Neve preamp clones(Chameleon 581's). Anyway, we did guitar tracks for 2 days and he went home with everything on a hard drive. He decided he needed a couple of additional tracks and tried to do them on his home rig(a DIGI002). He ended up back at my studio as he could not get the same quality sound. Moral of the story: the digital input is 100% accurate, but the sound character of a good preamp still matters:o

Top Jimmy 10-18-2021 11:24 AM

Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JFreak (Post 2616289)
Digital is digital, it is always "perfect" so long as you get clocking problems due to too long or too low quality cables.


*don’t get clocking problems

JFreak 10-18-2021 12:06 PM

Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?
 
Good catch, my bad.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com