Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 10 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417158)

halipino123 09-23-2021 10:16 AM

Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
Hi guys, I'm sort of stuck in limbo with ancient equipment. My 13 year old PC still uses Win 7 and I have a DIGI 002 Control Surface which I love using the faders for mixing and PT 10.

Here is the question, can I use a newer Audio Interface like a Focusrite Scarlett or Presonus (or whatever) and keep my DIGI 002 Control Surface in play?

I know the convertors in the DIGI 002 are not so good and is there a way to bypass the built in input/convertors and use a brand new modern interface while still getting the benefits of fader automation etc...

Not really in position to start buying all brand new gear and rebuild studio from ground up, just trying to salvage what I have.

Thank you :-)

EGS 09-23-2021 12:39 PM

Re: Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
no

albee1952 09-23-2021 12:56 PM

Re: Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
You could use an external mic pre with a digital connection, which would bypass the A>D converters(so you can keep using the 002 as the main interface and control surface). Your choice depends on your budget, and how many channels you want. Examples:
1-for 2 channels of stellar preamps, the API A2D connected to the SPDIF input. Price range: $1500(used) to around $2K. This is 2 channels of API-312, which many of use think is the best API preamp.
2-for 8 channels of fantastic drum recording, the Midas XL-48 connected to the Optical(ADAT) input. Around $900. This is 8 channels of Midas XL-4 preamps(the XL-4 is considered one of the very best live mixing consoles ever made).
There are many other options at prices from around $200 up to around $3K and I have used almost every one of them and the above are my best recommendations. The Midas beat my Vintech Neve clones and my API clones hands down on drums:-)

I would also start saving for a future upgrade for a few reasons. #1-the 002 is going to die at some point(and is already no longer supported). #2-you are stuck at Windows 7, which is also no longer supported(so at some point, you will need to come into the 21st century). The good news is that any digital preamp like I mentioned is going to still work with a newer interface(as long as it has the proper connections). You will also want to look at a separate control surface when the time comes.

halipino123 09-23-2021 01:18 PM

Re: Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
Thank you for helping out, yeah I'm in the stone age with old gear but 1 thing at a time and it seems like what you are saying I can at least get a better preamps...



100% Stupid question, is an external mic pre different than an Audio Interface/IO like the Scarlett etc..?


*For what I am doing with the DIGI 002 is just guitar and vocals and using a Kemper Stage with the SPDIF.





+++++++++++++++++++++++++



Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 2614441)
You could use an external mic pre with a digital connection, which would bypass the A>D converters(so you can keep using the 002 as the main interface and control surface). Your choice depends on your budget, and how many channels you want. Examples:
1-for 2 channels of stellar preamps, the API A2D connected to the SPDIF input. Price range: $1500(used) to around $2K. This is 2 channels of API-312, which many of use think is the best API preamp.
2-for 8 channels of fantastic drum recording, the Midas XL-48 connected to the Optical(ADAT) input. Around $900. This is 8 channels of Midas XL-4 preamps(the XL-4 is considered one of the very best live mixing consoles ever made).
There are many other options at prices from around $200 up to around $3K and I have used almost every one of them and the above are my best recommendations. The Midas beat my Vintech Neve clones and my API clones hands down on drums:-)

I would also start saving for a future upgrade for a few reasons. #1-the 002 is going to die at some point(and is already no longer supported). #2-you are stuck at Windows 7, which is also no longer supported(so at some point, you will need to come into the 21st century). The good news is that any digital preamp like I mentioned is going to still work with a newer interface(as long as it has the proper connections). You will also want to look at a separate control surface when the time comes.


EGS 09-23-2021 05:56 PM

Re: Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by halipino123 (Post 2614433)
...can I use a newer Audio Interface like a Focusrite Scarlett or Presonus (or whatever) and keep my DIGI 002 Control Surface in play? ...

No. Can't use 002 as a control surface (i.e. without having it also be the audio interface). You can use stand-alone mode, but not as a control surface with a different audio interface. See Chapter 7 here re: Stand-Alone Mode: http://akarchive.digidesign.com/supp...d_with_002.pdf

halipino123 09-25-2021 10:33 AM

Re: Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
OK, thanks you guys. Guess retiring my trusty 002 is what has to happen in order to be current. Hard to let go of an old friend.. lol

albee1952 09-27-2021 02:15 PM

Re: Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by halipino123 (Post 2614570)
OK, thanks you guys. Guess retiring my trusty 002 is what has to happen in order to be current. Hard to let go of an old friend.. lol

If it still works, please re-read my first reply:o

halipino123 09-28-2021 04:57 PM

Re: Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
@albee1952
Yes I did read your first post, thank you...

So I looked at the API and noticed it only has 1 input for SPDIF and no "SPDIF Out"...

I am currently using a Kemper Stage for guitar and everything I record goes out of the SPDIF In/Out for recording and reamping.

With the API only having a SPDIF In, how would I approach this? Do I need to find a different preamp that has the ins/outs? I've seen that on the back side of less expensive units.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/APIA2D--api-a2d

albee1952 09-29-2021 02:09 PM

Re: Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
I think you are misreading something. The API has a SPDIF output(the A2D stands for Analog to Digital). That would feed the SPDIF input of the 002. Alternately, put your Kemper on the SPDIF connections and use a lightpipe preamp like the Midas XL-48, or for a budget 2-channel, the ART Digital MPA

Ben Jenssen 09-30-2021 01:27 AM

Re: Can I use DIGI 002 Control Surface with newer Audio Interface?
 
You could get a used Command|8 cheap. I got mine for $130 a couple of years ago. I think it would replace the 002 as a controller just fine, and you'd be able to feel familiar with it very quickly. It's made for PT and has transport unlike most other controllers. Yes, it's ancient, but it still works with latest v PT.

Then use the rest of your budget on an interface that suits your needs.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com