Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 12 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=142)
-   -   Recording from track to track or aux to track not aligned (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=412742)

Matt Hepworth 11-18-2020 12:49 AM

Recording from track to track or aux to track not aligned
 
So, if you assign a track out to another track and record enable (printing the plugins from the first track) the two do not line up. In my testing the second (processed) track is around 300 samples delayed.

I experience the same if I use an aux set as output to another track and record on that second track. Same offset. What is the cause of this? Is it resolved in later PT versions?

Currently using 12.8.1.

Thanks!

albee1952 11-18-2020 08:11 AM

Re: Recording from track to track or aux to track not aligned
 
Is Delay Compensation enabled? What numbers are you seeing regarding latency on the source track(s)? Could it be a plugin's latency is not being read correctly(which would cause incorrect compensation) or does the delay window show red(meaning its out of the range of compensation)? Assuming Delay Compensation is enabled, I would use the original audio as a reference and nudge(or SPOT) the new audio into the correct position.

What is the reason for this routing(IOW, is there a better way to reach the same goal)? What about using Track Commit(I can't remember if 12.8.1 had that feature):o

Matt Hepworth 11-19-2020 12:52 AM

Re: Recording from track to track or aux to track not aligned
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 2584150)
Is Delay Compensation enabled? What numbers are you seeing regarding latency on the source track(s)? Could it be a plugin's latency is not being read correctly(which would cause incorrect compensation) or does the delay window show red(meaning its out of the range of compensation)? Assuming Delay Compensation is enabled, I would use the original audio as a reference and nudge(or SPOT) the new audio into the correct position.

What is the reason for this routing(IOW, is there a better way to reach the same goal)? What about using Track Commit(I can't remember if 12.8.1 had that feature):o

Commit does not have offset. Track delay is only 4 samples. I'll try toggling delay comp.

Matt Hepworth 11-19-2020 12:58 AM

Re: Recording from track to track or aux to track not aligned
 
No change.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com