Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | Carbon (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=161)
-   -   Carbon with 500 rack- bypassing the preamps / connectivity (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=415257)

darkwavo 05-07-2021 12:23 AM

Re: Carbon with 500 rack- bypassing the preamps / connectivity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber (Post 2601499)
Sure thing. Bypassing line input gain improves performance. See highlighted numbers in the attached.

Great!
Makes sense to hook it up to the DB25 and have all options at hand.

Nice design feature too (true bypass) for line inputs.

Cheers.

chrisdee 05-07-2021 11:58 PM

Re: Carbon with 500 rack- bypassing the preamps / connectivity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber (Post 2601500)
Yes, it can function that way (just like with any interface in Pro Tools).

So if am recording my vocal chain (mic-> pre -> comp) connected to one of the Carbon line inputs (for example line input 1) i can also route that signal to one of the outputs and send this to my external headphone amp?

Also wonder if my Omni has true bypass on the line inputs?

K Roche 05-09-2021 02:42 PM

Re: Carbon with 500 rack- bypassing the preamps / connectivity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by darkwavo (Post 2601529)
Great!
Makes sense to hook it up to the DB25 and have all options at hand.

Nice design feature too (true bypass) for line inputs.

Cheers.

Yes I run two outboard FX units one Reverb and one Compressor and they are connected via the DB 25 connections and bypass the gain on the line inputs .That way for example the gain on the comp is controlled completely by the gain knob on the front panel of the compressor.

Another nice feature is that combi XLR-1/4" connectors automatically override the DB 25s so for example you could have an analog Comp, Reverb and EQ connected to the DB 25's (on say channels 3-8 ) But If you plugged in 4 mics into the Combi connectors on channels 1-4 they would automatically override the number 3 and 4 channels on the DB 25's, so you would not have to physically disconnect anything on the DB's

darkwavo 05-10-2021 11:31 PM

Re: Carbon with 500 rack- bypassing the preamps / connectivity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by K Roche (Post 2601682)
Yes I run two outboard FX units one Reverb and one Compressor and they are connected via the DB 25 connections and bypass the gain on the line inputs .That way for example the gain on the comp is controlled completely by the gain knob on the front panel of the compressor.

Another nice feature is that combi XLR-1/4" connectors automatically override the DB 25s so for example you could have an analog Comp, Reverb and EQ connected to the DB 25's (on say channels 3-8 ) But If you plugged in 4 mics into the Combi connectors on channels 1-4 they would automatically override the number 3 and 4 channels on the DB 25's, so you would not have to physically disconnect anything on the DB's

Interesting . Super cool feature!

chrisdee 05-11-2021 04:51 AM

Re: Carbon with 500 rack- bypassing the preamps / connectivity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chrisdee (Post 2601603)
So if am recording my vocal chain (mic-> pre -> comp) connected to one of the Carbon line inputs (for example line input 1) i can also route that signal to one of the outputs and send this to my external headphone amp?

Also wonder if my Omni has true bypass on the line inputs?

What about MTRX Studio. Does it have true bypass on line inputs?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com